iOS 5.1 Battery update!!!

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by macmaccy, Nov 29, 2011.

1. macmaccy macrumors member

For the first time since owning an iphone 4s I'm actually happy!!! After running iOS 5.1 for about 18 hours (draining to 0% and full charge) my battery is finally running the way it should. Almost 9 hours of standby (mix of mostly wifi and 3g) and 1 hour and 10 minutes of use (58 minutes phone calls w/bluetooth headset and dozens of texts w/iMessage) my battery has 86% charge!!!!

I know it's still early but it looks very positive at this point. :):):):):):):):D:D:D

2. lordofthereef macrumors G5

lordofthereef

If this is true, I'd rather have this than a jalbreak. I end up charging my phone halfway through the day. Thanks god I am a student! LOL.

3. J Griz 757 macrumors regular

J Griz 757

Good to hear. Thanks for the info.

As the days pass by drop some updates on how it's been working for you.

4. Jordan921 macrumors 68040

Jordan921

5. MarcBook macrumors 6502a

MarcBook

I guess this means that the previously mentioned 5.0.2 release might just be incorporated into the 5.1 update. That's fine, of course, as long as 5.1 doesn't take too long to be released.

5.0.1 did help my battery life quite a bit, but not as much as I'd hoped. My iPhone just about makes it through the day with the 'Low Battery' message popping up just before I go to bed. I do miss the days with my iPhone 4 when I'd go to bed with around 50% left, though. I used my 4 with 3G off most of the time; I think that helped tremendously.

6. heyloo macrumors 6502

This is great news! I've been wondering about this. Hopefully it doesn't take too long for Apple to release 5.1!

7. macmaccy thread starter macrumors member

UPDATE:
    Now 11hrs 25 mins standby
    1 hr 31 minutes usage

I added about 20 minutes bluetooth calling and a few more texts and emails.

Current battery: 80%

Still looking really good!!!!!:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:p:p:p:p:p:p

8. aawil macrumors 6502a

aawil