iOS 5 restore brings up iTunes error 3194

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by jdwilsh, Jun 7, 2011.

  1. jdwilsh macrumors newbie

    jdwilsh

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #1
    Hey guys

    I've had a look through the forums/google already for this but couldn't find any helpful info. A friend was kind enough yesterday to register my UDID with his dev account. I've downloaded and installed iTunes 10.5 64bit and I have the .ispw for the iOS 5 beta on my PC.

    Now whenever I Shift click restore and select the file, it checks the software with iTunes then comes up with the 3194 error. I've edited the host file in system32/drivers/etc and restarted and that hasnt made a difference. I've uninstalled and re-installed iTunes without a difference.

    Anybody any other ideas that I could try?

    I'm running Windows 7 64bit which i thought may have been the problem but i've seen reports of it working just fine on there.
     
  2. pugnut macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #2
    Try downloading the iTunes beta
     
  3. jdwilsh thread starter macrumors newbie

    jdwilsh

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #3
    I already have it installed! As I said, i've tried uninstalling and reinstalling with restarts every time and its not helped.

    I originally had the problem opening 10.5 where it jsut simply wouldnt open at all but i resolved that myself.
     
  4. bryanjc macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    #4
    what did you do to the hosts file? it needs to be able to contact apple.
     
  5. thesiss macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    #5
    Same thing is happening to me and I can't figure out how to fix it :mad:

    actually, i'm getting another type of error saying my phone is not eligible for the requested build.
     
  6. jyoung96 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    #6
    yea guys you need to your UDID registered under an iOS dev account before apple lets you install. Sorry but apple wants there $99! :cool:
     
  7. jdwilsh thread starter macrumors newbie

    jdwilsh

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #7
    I added:

    74.208.10.249 gs.apple.com

    there was another gs.apple.com line but i cant remember the other IP.

    my UDID IS registered. Thats the problem...
     
  8. Himynamesnoah macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    #8
    Please someone help, same thing with me. Getting the 3194 error when trying to restore to iOS 5.
    My host's file looks like this:
    Code:
    # Copyright (c) 1993-1999 Microsoft Corp.
    #
    # This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
    #
    # This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
    # entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
    # be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
    # The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
    # space.
    #
    # Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
    # lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
    #
    # For example:
    #
    #      102.54.94.97     rhino.acme.com          # source server
    #       38.25.63.10     x.acme.com              # x client host
    
    127.0.0.1       localhost
    74.208.10.249 gs.apple.com
    74.208.105.171 gs.apple.com
    I added the bottom line because another thread said it would help, but it's not working.
     
  9. outphase macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    #9
    Why would you need to redirect gs.apple.com when it's legitimately registered?
     
  10. Himynamesnoah macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    #10
    So i delete those two lines?
    Deleted them and still get it.
     
  11. shayosef, Jun 7, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2011

    shayosef macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Location:
    Space
    #11
    I had the same issue - error 3194

    what i did is to add # to hosts

    should look like this:

    #74.208.10.249 gs.apple.com


    try it.
     
  12. Himynamesnoah macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
  13. jdwilsh thread starter macrumors newbie

    jdwilsh

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #13
    o_O

    that just comments out the lines... and 127.0.0.1 is your own machine, which presumably wont be anything to do with gs.apple.com.
     
  14. Himynamesnoah macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    #14
    Any other solutions?
    I just got error 1602, and now my iPad is in recovery mode and not being recognized by iTunes.
     
  15. jdwilsh thread starter macrumors newbie

    jdwilsh

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #15
    Try this for 1602: link
     
  16. RafaelT macrumors 65816

    RafaelT

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Location:
    Lakeland, FL
    #16
    For legitimately registered developers you should not be editing your host file.
     
  17. Alan Taylor macrumors 6502

    Alan Taylor

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Location:
    Mississauga
    #17
    This is a developer beta. You should use the developer beta of Xcode 4.3 to restore the IPSW onto the phone.

    Don't waste your time with this stuff unless you are developing. If you do, don't start bitching about Facebook not working.
     
  18. Himynamesnoah macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    #18
    Well it was edited from doing my iPhone before, so now it's normal.
    I am now getting error 1601, before it was 1602 but now it's recognized.
    So how do i fix 1601?
     
  19. Melliexxx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    #19
    The real deal (worked for me)

    ■Download TinyUmbrella from http://thefirmwareumbrella.blogspot.com
    ■Launch it.
    ■Click on the "Advanced" tab.
    ■Uncheck "Set Hosts to Cydia on Exit"
    ■Click on "Apply Changes"
    ■Reboot your PC/Mac.
    :cool:
     
  20. fnyomaha macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    #20
    I used tinyumbrella (last version) and still getting 3194 error.....any solution there?

    this also can help: i have win vista 64, itunes 10.5 and registered UDID.
     
  21. jdwilsh thread starter macrumors newbie

    jdwilsh

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
  22. fnyomaha macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    #22
    wich method worked for you? it must be in dfu mode? :)
     
  23. DDustiNN macrumors 65816

    DDustiNN

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    #23
    I tried it using Windows 7 64-bit iTunes 10.5 beta, and I kept getting the same error (I am a registered developer). I restarted, redownloaded the ipsw, etc, nothing worked.

    Before that, I was trying it on my Mac OS X virtual machine, and I was getting a different error. Then I tried the Win7 version, got the error you mentioned.

    Then I restarted the Mac VM (previously I was just putting it to sleep), tried it again, and it worked perfectly fine.

    So I ended up installing iOS 5 from the Mac, since that was the only thing that worked, but then I did a backup restore in Windows to get all of my apps/settings back.

    No idea what happened [​IMG]
     
  24. blueblizzard macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    #24
    OK

    So I have been getting the 3194 error when trying to update my iPad 2 to iOS 5 Beta and finally got it to work.

    Make sure your "hosts" file matches the data from this link: https://discussions.apple.com/thread/3083715?start=0&tstart=0

    I had 64-bit W7 and had an entry at the bottom of my host file that wasn't supposed to be there. After I deleted it and restarted my computer, I was able to successfully update to iOS 5.

    Otherwise, just update to iOS 5 on someone elses computer. That also works.
     
  25. nasapc123 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    #25
    hey, um ive found that adding anything like that for IOS5 screws up the update. my UDID isnt registered, and removing the additions to the host file fixed all my problems :p i may just be being a noob tho :D
     

Share This Page