General iOS 9 feature compatibility on devices.

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by George Waseem, Jul 9, 2015.

?

Are you upgrading to iOS 9 ?

  1. Yes

    360 vote(s)
    75.8%
  2. No, I'm sticking with iOS 8 or earlier

    39 vote(s)
    8.2%
  3. I will try the iOS 9 public beta first.

    45 vote(s)
    9.5%
  4. I'm waiting for iOS 9.1

    4 vote(s)
    0.8%
  5. iOS 9.2

    7 vote(s)
    1.5%
  6. iOS 9.3

    20 vote(s)
    4.2%
  1. jmmo20 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    #126
    I'm annoyed at random limitations imposed by apple to force upgrades.

    My iPad 3 is perfectly fine for my needs. Why stop sketches from working on ipad 3? I understand it happens with hardware differences make it impossible (i.e. not having a required chipset) but seriously.. what's stopping apple from allowing sketches?

    it looks like they go randomly with a list of updates and say "not this, this is extra, pay for a new ipad".

    I will buy a new ipad when my current ipad dies.. basically.
     
  2. syphern macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #127
    thats the name of the game my friend.... name of the game - FOR PROFIT COMPANY
     
  3. George Waseem thread starter macrumors regular

    George Waseem

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    #128
    The nfc chip only exists on the iPhone 6/6+ and is locked to Apple Pay only even with iOS 9.
     
  4. George Waseem thread starter macrumors regular

    George Waseem

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    #129
    It's basically software, to make all iPad 3 users feel that they didn't get the feature that was mentioned in the keynote. The feature can also require a better chip. iPad 3 is on its way to being obsolete, in fact iPad 4 is 3 x faster, iPad Air is 5 x faster and iPad Air 2 is more than 6 times faster that's why they run the sketch in notes. What I can say that be also a hardware problem, if apple did give you that feature the iPad could've much slowed down.
     
  5. RoboWarriorSr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    #130
    I'm confused doesn't the 4s share the exact same SOC as the iPod Touch and iPad 2 except in 45nm configuration? I don't see how the iPod Touch will get better performance considering it has a higher resolution display seeing how they share the same SOC. Unless Apple is really not optimizing 4s model through a model identifier or something. Looks like it's time to downgrade my 4s to iOS 6 and make it a portable music player.
     
  6. FriednTested macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    #131
    That is a disappointment. I was looking forward to developing nfc based keychains for clients. I guess they will have to wait.
     
  7. Todenymyflesh, Sep 13, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 13, 2015

    Todenymyflesh macrumors newbie

    Todenymyflesh

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2014
    #132
    Help needed!

    I have a IPhone 5 did the iOS 9 beta testing and every time after locking my screen I get a notification that states update to the new iOS 9 upgrade but when I check settings there is no update needed. What do I do? I've already reset my phone and it rest me back to may because iCloud wouldn't sync.
     
  8. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #133
    Today's release is newer than the GM. You can OTA update from the GM to today's build which is 4 builds newer.
     
  9. OlivierK, Sep 16, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2015

    OlivierK macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Location:
    Belgium
    #134
    I'm not sure if it has been mentioned before but my iPhone 4S didn't get the News app. The Newsstand is gone though. Is this a limitation for the iPhone 4S or is the News app limited by region? I'm from Belgium. I was really looking forward to trying it out!

    Edit: looks like it's limited to US only for now!
     
  10. Sydde macrumors 68020

    Sydde

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    #135
    Ok, this much touted split-screen thing: can I get it? I only have a measly Air 2, will it work on hardware that old (November)? If so, how does one make it happen? So far, the sidebar only has Apple apps in it (and: will they someday let me hide the ones of those I never use?), so that is all but useless to me.

    Oh, and this mixed-case keyboard: ick, will I eventually get used to it?
     
  11. C DM macrumors Sandy Bridge

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #136
    You can change the keyboard back to how it was in accessibility settings. As for slide over and split screen, I believe there are some front page articles that go into detail as to how they work.
     
  12. Sydde macrumors 68020

    Sydde

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    #137
    Thank you.
    So by mid-December, we might have a pile of 3rd-Party apps that do that.
     
  13. eicca macrumors 6502

    eicca

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    #138
    My iPhone 5 display turns on when facedown and receiving a text. Is that proximity-sensor-based display switch only available on newer phones?
     
  14. ChazSch macrumors 6502

    ChazSch

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Location:
    Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
    #139
    Update on wifi calling straight from AT&T: Jenille-U: By the way, for the Wi-Fi calling, we're going to launch it once approved by the Federal Communications Commission (FCC).
     
  15. Rubo Draco, Sep 18, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2015

    Rubo Draco macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #140
    Not working on my iPad 2 (iOS 9 stable, 3G+WiFi)
    I even tried disabling passcode and enabling again but I couldn't set a 6 digit passcode. Are we supposed to toggle ON some switch to enable the feature or what? If so then, where is it?

    Edit

    From Apple's website...
    So... No 6 digit passcode for no Touch ID devices

    Edit

    SOLVED

    It's not enabled by default. You have to hit the "Change passcode" option then type your old passcode and hit the "Passcode Options" option
     

    Attached Files:

  16. jmmo20 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    #141
    Another stupid limitation. iPad 3s don't have low power mode.

    Please.
     
  17. C DM macrumors Sandy Bridge

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #142
    None of the iPads have that. It's for iPhones to conserve power (more or less from the aspect of being able to make or take a call being more of a priority)
     
  18. George Waseem thread starter macrumors regular

    George Waseem

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    #143
    Low power mode is only available for iPhones, even the iPad Air 2, Air, 4 didn't get it
     
  19. macnicol macrumors newbie

    macnicol

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    #144
    What version of iTunes does IOS 9 require, is it compatible with Mac OSX 10.9.5 iPhoto 9.5.1?
     
  20. Acronym macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    #145
    In any app if you ask Siri to open settings it will open the settings for that specific app if it Is in settings.
     
  21. lcori macrumors newbie

    lcori

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
  22. RedRaven571 macrumors 65816

    RedRaven571

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #147
    So, for all intents and purposes, nothing REALLY new for my venerable iPad 2; except, from so many reports, upgrading will slow it down (still running iOS 7 because iOS 8 turned the iPad 2 into molasses).

    That about right?
     
  23. wbrat macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    #148
    I still don't have a preview scrubber bar on my iPhone 4S (iOS 9.1 beta 3)
     
  24. George Waseem thread starter macrumors regular

    George Waseem

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    #149
    Maybe this feature is not compatible with iPhone 4S, it's the last supported device by iOS 9.
     
  25. pustota macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    #150
    Sorry, if that's a wrong thread (and perhaps you can direct me in the right direction): will iOS9 slow my iPad Air and I will hate the experience? Or should I try it out?

    Thank you guys!
     

Share This Page