iPad 2 WITH Macbook air?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Atk., Sep 23, 2011.

1. Atk. macrumors newbie

Hi,
    I have a dilemma. I am a university student and I want an iPad 2. The thing is, I already have a 13" Air. I've been searching forums and no one else seems to be in the same predicament. Does anyone think the iPad2 will be useful for me? Am I asking for too much? Does anyone else have an iPad 2 along side a macbook air? And if so, how is your usage?

Thanks!

2. appleguy123 macrumors 603

appleguy123

NO!

I had a 17" MacBook Pro, and an iPad 2. Perfect combination.

I then bought the MacBook Air 13". It replaces the iPad in every regard. I haven't touched the iPad since. It might be good for a nice gaming experience though, but I don't have the time to game.

3. dtjay7 macrumors regular

I have an iPad 2 and a 13" Macbook Air. They serve different purposes for me. I am taking programming classes and need a laptop, but I use the iPad 2 to take notes in class. I did recently change from a 13" MBP to the Air and could not be happier. I am getting older and I really appreciate the light weight when I carry the Air.

4. eric/ Guest

eric/

It seems redundant to buy a highly portable (and expensive) laptop, and then turn around and buy a highly portable (and expensive) tablet.

Sell your air if you can and get an iMac or build your own desktop computer. Otherwise, save some money and stick with the MBA. Despite the fact that the iPad 2 is cool and everything and I'm sure it would be nice to have both, use common sense as a student, who probably could put that money to better use, and just use your MBA.

5. dannn macrumors regular

That sounds perfectly fine. You need a portable laptop for when you're out and about--that's what your air is for. Then when you come home or to your dorm, you have something to lounge around with--your ipad.