ipad 3 sim locked, unlock question.

Discussion in 'iPad' started by elf69, Jan 11, 2017.

  1. elf69 macrumors 68000

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #1
    I bought a used ipad from someone.

    met person face to face NOT ebay.

    they removed their account and find my ipad, etc.

    all working great so put my sim in and it will not activate.
    unsupported sim.

    so it locked.
    owner got from a family member who is no longer living.

    they think it was vodaphone.
    is there a way to find out?

    I want unlock it to use my existing sim.
     
  2. robotica macrumors 6502a

    robotica

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    #2
    Sounds like it's locked to me, ask him what carrier they used previously.

    Edit: you can call them and see if they will unlock it...
    I am nott sure if you can use the third party iPhone unlocker to unlock it but I think that it would work.
     
  3. elf69 thread starter macrumors 68000

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #3
    I know it is sim locked.

    they THINK it on vodaphone.

    Is there a way to find out for sure?
    my EE and 3 sim does not work in it.

    My question is can I find out from imei what it locked to?
     
  4. robotica macrumors 6502a

    robotica

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    #4
    The quickest way I can think of would be to pick up a vodaphone SIM card and see if it works.

    Maybe someone else on here knows away to check the imei against an online database.

    You could also phone Apple tech support.
     
  5. elf69 thread starter macrumors 68000

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
  6. pika2000 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    #6
    Try restoring the iPad and re-activate it using your SIM inside it.
     
  7. elf69 thread starter macrumors 68000

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #7
    will it work if plugged into my mac?

    if turn it on with my sim in it ti just says cannot activate and no matter what cannot bypass.
    have turn it off and remove sim.

    with no sim it works fine.
     
  8. pika2000 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    #8
    Try connecting it and see what iTunes say.

    https://support.apple.com/en-al/HT206214
    That one is for iPad 2 and iOS9.3 specific issue, but the procedure is worth a try.
     
  9. robotica macrumors 6502a

    robotica

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    #9
    I would try putting your sim of choice in them doing a dfu restore
     
  10. elf69 thread starter macrumors 68000

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #10
    I have ipad 3 with 9.3.5

    will try dfu, pain as just set it up last nite how i wanted it too.

    never mind.
     

Share This Page