iPad 4 Ram?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by ghsNick, Oct 25, 2012.

  1. ghsNick macrumors 68020

    ghsNick

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #1
    The 4 has 1GB of RAM and the 3 has 512MB correct?
     
  2. Reason077 macrumors 68000

    Reason077

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #2
    Incorrect. The 3rd gen iPad has 1GB. The 4th gen... we don't know.
     
  3. ghsNick thread starter macrumors 68020

    ghsNick

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #3
    Wait...the 3 has 1GB of RAM? Can you break down the RAM in the iPad 1 vs iPad 2 vs iPad 3...

    I thought the 4 was twice as fast?
     
  4. al256 macrumors 6502a

    al256

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
    #4
    First iPad 256MB, second 512MB, third 1024MB.
     
  5. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #5
    iPad 2 a5 soc has 512mb
    iPad 3 a5x 1gb ram
    iPad 4 a6x either 1gb or 1.5gb your guess is as good as mine.

    The twice as fast is to do with the a6x chip it's the same as the iPhone 5's with twice as many gpu cores and the a6 slaps the a5 silly!
     
  6. Purant macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    #6
    I think it's

    1: 256MB
    2: 512MB
    3: 1GB
    4: (not sure yet, possibly 1GB as well)

    The speed difference comes from changing the processor from a A5X to a A6X not from the ram.
     
  7. Renzatic Suspended

    Renzatic

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Location:
    Gramps, what the hell am I paying you for?
    #7
    iPad 1: 256MB
    iPad 2: 512MB
    iPad 3: 1GB
    iPad 4: Wuh?

    Doubling the ram doesn't make the device twice as fast. It just means it's capable of handling more complex memory hungry applications, and/or more tasks in the background.
     
  8. Anti-Lucifer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    #8
    You DO KNOW: 1GB ram is it.
     
  9. Smiletime macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
  10. CapnJackGig macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    #10
    The 4 will have the same ram as the 3. Apple themselves listed all the physical changes. New chip and lightning. Nothing else. Mini will have 512.
     
  11. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #11
    It cannot have 1.5 GB of RAM as it only have a single NAND flash on the PCB.

    So it is the power of 2. 256 MB -> 512 MB -> 1024 MB -> 2048 MB.

    Although I see no reason why they should have upgraded it to 2 GB of RAM.

    We will know as soon as they open it up and look at the System-on-a-Chip but A6 has 1 GB of RAM and I highly suspect A6X retains the same amount.
     
  12. Reason077 macrumors 68000

    Reason077

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #12
    You may well be right. But remember, the A5X doubled the RAM compared to the A5.

    Apple also claimed the A6X has double the graphics performance compared to the A5X, yet it retains the same number of cores. Increasing the RAM might be one of the ways they achieved that, as it would increase the performance of texture-heavy 3D apps, etc, on the retina display.
     
  13. Pressure, Oct 25, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2012

    Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #13
    It doesn't really have the impact you are searching for, remember the A6 uses faster and lower-powered RAM (LP DDR2 SDRAM 1066 Mhz as opposed to the 800 Mhz used in the A5X).

    However I would gladly be proven wrong. I could easily see them using the "rule of 1/4th" again as every other SoC from Apple has had.

    Apple A4, 800 Mhz Cortex-A8 (Hummingbird) with 200 Mhz SGX535.
    Apple A5, 800 Mhz dual-core Cortex-A9 paired with 200 Mhz SGX543MP2.
    Apple A5X, 1 Ghz dual-core Cortex-A9 paired with 250 Mhz SGX543MP4.
    Apple A6, 1.3 Ghz dual-core Swift paired with 325 Mhz SGX543MP3.​

    Which easily could make the Apple A6X 1.5-1.6 Ghz dual-core Swift paired with 375-400 Mhz SGX543MP4. Just a guess. It may even use LP DDR3 SDRAM clocked at 1600 Mhz (although I doubt it) for higher memory bandwidth needed at at resolution of 2048 x 1536 pixels. Instead they may have opted for the pseudo 128-bit memory bandwidth implemented in the A5X.

    The extra RAM does not magically speed graphic processing up, however, faster RAM will give the entire System-on-a-Chip a higher bandwidth and remove a bottleneck. 1 GB is enough for now, especially if it was enough for the new iPad (3rd generation) with its less efficient processor.
     
  14. adztaylor macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Location:
    Preston, UK
    #14
    Apple never mentions RAM at the keynotes for their iDevices, we'll have to wait for the teardown.
     
  15. Liquinn Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    #15
    When will the teardown be?
     
  16. master-ceo macrumors 65816

    master-ceo

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    The SUN
    #16
    You never used a app like AURIA. if the iPad 3s has 2gb of Ram I will pick it up. If not, its not worth the upgrade from the 3 IME.
     
  17. Liquinn Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    #17
    I'm upgrading from the original iPad, I can't wait to upgrade tbh. Any ideas when the teardown will be?
     
  18. master-ceo macrumors 65816

    master-ceo

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    The SUN
    #18
    You will love it then. The tear down should be a few days after its released :cool:
     
  19. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #19
    Indeed I have not used that app, and neither have the vast majority of users.

    Badly optimized apps or apps that uses the hardware to the bleeding edge is not Apple's fault but the developers doing.
     
  20. master-ceo macrumors 65816

    master-ceo

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    The SUN
    #20
    Well yes, the app is well optimized, but the user can push it to the limit. Not blaming or complaining, just saying 2gb would be welcomed as a power user.
     
  21. haruhiko macrumors 601

    haruhiko

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    #21
    No more guessing, it will be 1GB. Apple upgrades the RAM to 1GB only for the display. The iPad 2 was an exception because the iPad 1 had too little (256MB, pathetic...)
     
  22. SR45 macrumors 65832

    SR45

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #22
    Just wondering why is it that Apple never announces the ram amount ? They tell about the other stuff. We find out later anyway, and isn't this important to many and holding back on this info is perplexing to me.
     
  23. adztaylor macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Location:
    Preston, UK
    #23
    No idea, probably because Apple feels that their customers don't need to worry about things like RAM.

    Just like with multitasking on iOS, they want customers to not worry about closing apps and manage things running in the background as the OS does it all for them.
     
  24. russ99 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    #24
    Twice as fast seems an exaggeration. The A5x (iPad 3) and the A6x (iPad4) have the same clock speed. More GPU cores add a boost but that statement seems like marketing speak.

    Let's see independent benchmarks under actual use not in lab conditions.
     
  25. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #25
    But they don't have the same clock speed. Nothing has been confirmed and the Apple A6 is twice as fast as its predecessor, which we already know from the iPhone 5.
     

Share This Page