ipad = a glorified toy

Discussion in 'iPad' started by matt90036, Apr 6, 2011.

1. matt90036 macrumors regular

i have seen many people saying that ipad is just a toy. this really bothers me.
    i am a medical student and i use my ipad when i go to class to quickly look up answers via iannotate and 4 pathology books that i have loaded on it. when i do prep questions for USMLE and i dont know something i quickly look it up again via iannotate and the USMLE First Aid book. When i dont know something about one of the few thousand drugs i use Micromedex. it gives me drug indications, side effects, dosage and i use Medscape for drug interactions. i have also loaded netters images onto my photo app to quickly help me with my anatomy, which is my weakest subject. once i get my hands on a 7 inch ipad i will be brining it for my rotations.

the biggest upside of an ipad over a laptop is its portability, reponsiveness and a variety of medical apps that allow you to get information access with one click of the finger. there are hospitals that allow docotrs to get patient information via ipads as well as their vital stats. it is a tremendous productivity tool when use as one.

2. ani23 macrumors 6502

In case you didnt realize look below for the original poster you quoted.

Linky

3. leenak macrumors 68020

Ha! There will always be haters. I love my iPad. I don't have to justify it to anyone.

4. TwinCities Dan macrumors 603

TwinCities Dan

Double Parked out front of the Courthouse
    So you say it's a toy and then defend it? :confused:

I think your thread title is a little misleading... ;)

5. bruinsrme macrumors 601

bruinsrme

well, I was about anti-ipad as they come.
    then I got an ipad2.

It is a toy, it is a tool.

Airplay is amazing.

I would say it does about 75% of what I need.
    It is what you make of it. I am glad I got one.

6. NachoGrande macrumors 6502a

Who cares what people call it. Seriously does it matter? It's their loss not mine.