iPad and Medicine. (Apps, stories, Medicine-iPad stuff)

Discussion in 'iPad' started by FutureStan, Apr 10, 2011.

1. FutureStan, Apr 10, 2011
    Last edited: May 6, 2011

FutureStan macrumors member

Hello everyone :D,

I wanted to share with you how I use my iPad as a medical resident, to help doctors or anyone that has to do anything with medicine, and also to maximize my iPad's usability in this field.

I am a 4th year resident specializing in Neurosurgery and have been using my iPad (first gen, Although tempted to get the White iPad 2, it fits better here lol) for about ten months now, and its been a pleasure using it in my residency.

When I first got my iPad it was relatively new meaning that not many people (compared to today) has seen an iPad yet, I bought it mainly for the Medical Apps, and being a resident in a very competitive hospital (I will refrain from naming it for the sole reason of privacy) can be.. well.. competitive. Meaning that not only do I have to be on top of things all the time, but also have access to every little detail, and the iPad was the best suitable product for this job. It even got me on a very interesting case of Spinal Trauma! (Usually the attending physicians switch residents by turns) Because the Chief of Neuro saw that I am sporting that new iPad he decided to "screw the turns" lol and to take me as his resident so he get to see the cool apps! and that next week he got it! (He obviously got the 64 GB 3G version with some extremely expensive leather case, why? because he can afford it. that and a Ferrari :eek:).

Here are a list of the Apps I'm using a lot these days: :rolleyes:

-The Nervous System - iPad edition: This is a great app, I mostly like it because I can show the patients the visuals that are absolutely wonderful.
    -The Skeletal System Pro
    -PubMed on Tap
    -Medical Lab Tests.
    -Blausen Human Atlas.

I use some other Apps as well but these are the ones I could remember at the top of my head.