Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

woolypants

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Oct 24, 2018
(I know there's a wiki thread about desktop-replacement-iPad but it was started almost a decade ago.)

What apps do you find invaluable if using the iPad as your everyday computer?

I'll start by mentioning Jump Desktop, which lets me remote-desktop into my Mac.

There's obviously Microsoft and Adobe apps, but I'm thinking mostly of the small indie apps that just do something amazingly useful.

Slartibart

macrumors 68030
Aug 19, 2020
on iPadOS:

Obsidian
a-Shell
Gladys, SendAnywhere
Super Agent, Hush, Web Inspector, Adblock Fast/AdGuard
FileBrowser Pro/File Explorer
VLC
Collabora Office
Vectornator, Sketchbook, Fontcase, Affinity apps, Snapseed
Carnets, Fast Chart
Calcvier

cupcakes2000

macrumors 68040
Apr 13, 2010
I’m a photographer so all the normal photo apps are standard. C1, LR, PS, Affinity suite, Vectornator, PhotoPills, etc. But utilities wise, I use (off the top of my head)

Drafts
Stongbox
Quickscan
Busycal
Goodnotes
Reeder
Yoink
Pcalc
XSearch (this one is amazing. It allows any search engine to be used in safari, and even works for spotlight searches)
Hush
File Browser Pro
Jump desktop
Mela
Overcast
Scaniverse
Vinegar

Probs way more.

Last edited:

Traverse

macrumors 604
Mar 11, 2013
Here
For me, my most common apps for everyday use:

• Obsidian
  • 1Password
  • Reeder
  • Plex
  • Streaming apps (YouTub, Twitch, etc.)
  • Numbers
  • Reddit
  • Tweetbot
  • Overcast
  • Comixology
  • Notability

Reactions: GhostOS

Digitalguy

macrumors 601
Apr 15, 2019
Apps on my dock:
Safari, Jump Desktop, VNC viewer, Messenger, Files, Documents, Filebrowser pro, Word, Gmail, Dropbox, Onedrive, Sugarsync, Apple notes, Sendanywhere

A couple of the apps on my home page: Calcbot, Photos, Voice Dream, Lumafusion, Books, Plex, Google Calendar Google Maps