Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

EnigmaticZee

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 31, 2022
Lalaland
Any predictions on when we will get iPad Mini 7 and if it will have M1. I am new to iPads and the first one I got was iPad mini 6 earlier this year. So, I am not aware of Apple's upgrade pattern with iPads.

dsusanj

macrumors regular
Oct 29, 2008
iPad mini has been on a very slow update schedule since the mini 4, with about 2.5 years between releases.

NYCValkyrie

macrumors 6502a
Jun 1, 2019
Any predictions on when we will get iPad Mini 7 and if it will have M1. I am new to iPads and the first one I got was iPad mini 6 earlier this year. So, I am not aware of Apple's upgrade pattern with iPads.

The updates on the Mini aren't as frequent as other models which I think is good. Since it was just released in 2021, we probably won't see a 7 until 2023/24. You can always check the MacRumors Buyers Guide.

azentropy

macrumors 601
Jul 19, 2002
Surprise
Before Monday I would have guessed 2+ years until another update. However now that there are some killer features on iPadOS available with an M1 I think we may see something sooner. I would no longer be shocked to see something this year or early next.

Reactions: EnigmaticZee

snipr125

macrumors 68000
Oct 17, 2015
UK
Even if iPad mini 7 gets M1, stage manager will probably not there. iPad mini 7 experience wouldn’t be much different from iPad mini 6.
The M1 chip comes with standard 8 GB RAM, so if the Mini got a M chip then there is no reason why it would not support Stage Manager. I suspect the iPad Minis from this point onwards will get all the latest A chips though, which in my opinion is better than slightly older M chips (M1 is based on the 1.5 year old A14).

Reactions: EnigmaticZee

Shirasaki

macrumors P6
May 16, 2015