iPad video converter?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by GadgetX, Mar 6, 2010.

  1. GadgetX macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    #1
    I know I still have a month until launch (4 weeks exactly!) but I want to start converting some of my videos and movies (200+ gigs) into an iPad friendly format. Anyone have any suggestions? Pretty much all the files I have are .avi if that makes a difference...
     
  2. goobot macrumors 603

    goobot

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    long island NY
    #2
    i would say make it the iphone kind. also you know the ipad is maxed at 64gigs right?
     
  3. GadgetX thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    #3
    Well the iPad has a higher resolution screen than the iPad so I would like to take advantage of that. And yes the iPad does max out at 64gb so a bitrate that maximized compression while still having decent quality would be ideal. Oh and I do realize I will not be able to fit my whole movie collection on my iPad but I'd like to be able to sync any movie I have to it before a long trip.
     
  4. gibbz macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    #4
    I'm sure handbrake will be out with something optimized before long.
     
  5. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #5
    The Apple TV pre-set should work fine. The iPad can do up to 720P @30FPS MP4 video.

    I'm just going to stream all my videos from my main computer.
     
  6. wolfpackfan macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Location:
    Cary, NC
    #6
    I use the Apple Universal setting in Handbrake.
     
  7. goobot macrumors 603

    goobot

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    long island NY
    #7
    interesting. so its a infinity loop of beterz?
     
  8. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #8
    Agreed
    I am sure once the iPad is out, there will be a new iteration of Handbrake with an optimized preset for the iPad
     
  9. dave1812dave macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    #9
    u can set handbrake for any resolution u choose. a preset is for the laziest of the lazy.
     
  10. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #10
    Wow, I never knew that!!! Thanks for the information!!11 :rolleyes:
    This will change my life
     
  11. dave1812dave macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    #11
    sigh. (as if I know the extent of your knowledge. PLUS, I wrote that for ALL readers--not just YOU)
     
  12. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #12
    Your lazy comment sparked the response
    Having a preset doesn't necessarily make one lazy
    It can be more efficient
    It also can be helpful for those who are not proficient or knowledgeable
     
  13. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #13
    Well since you are an expert (and must have an iPad to test on) please tell us the best settings to use in HB so I don't have to wait my lazy self on.:D

    I plan on waiting and seeing what presets HB offers while experimenting on a few movies before going "hog wild". I hope to use 1024x576/160Kbps audio (1.78) and 1024x436/160Kbps audio (2.35).
     
  14. dave1812dave macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    #14
    set up handbrake for h.264

    set the width to your screen's horizontal pixel count.

    leave the vertical setting BLANK

    save as a custom preset if setting those items is all that onerous.

    you are good to go.
     
  15. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #15
    I asked for specif settings for the iPad (as the OP did) and not generalities.:eek: I asked this same question on the HB forum a month ago and one of the developers (bet he knows more about HB settings than you and I combined;)) gave this answer.

     
  16. dave1812dave macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    #16
    so replace "horizontal pixels" with 1024. that specific enough?? :)
     
  17. GadgetX thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    #17
    I've never used handbrake before but I will download it soon. Thank you everyone.
     
  18. saving107 macrumors 603

    saving107

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca
    #18
    to the OP, I've actually been doing the same thing and copying all of my personal DVDs to my computer so that I can then re-play them on my Apple TV, iPhone and soon to be iPad. Everyone has their own opinion on how to encode videos using Handbrake, this is mine. I've figured out that by selecting the iPhone preset and then upscaling the video, that will give me the same quality of video as iTunes does. pre-selecting the Apple Tv quality won't make it compatible with my iPhone or iPod nano, only Apple TV.

    I did a lot of testing and I finally settled on one that makes me happy.

    1. On the right Preset panel, Select iPhone & iPod touch.
    [​IMG]
    2. I then manually changed the Quality to 1800 kbps. Also, make sure the Video Codec is set to H.264 (it should already be selected)
    [​IMG]
    3.Then go into your Picture Setting on the top panel, and change the Anamorphic quality to Strict (this should give you the original quality of the video)
    [​IMG]
    4. I personally use these filter settings to give me a nice clean image.
    [​IMG]
    5. this is just a video preview of what the video will look like. Handbrake lets you preview 10-15-20-30 seconds of the video before you spend 2 hours encoding the video.
    [​IMG]

    Final Result
    [​IMG]
     
  19. GermanSuplex macrumors 6502a

    GermanSuplex

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    #19
    What if someone is converting a 720x480 video? It makes no sense to set a 1024 horizontal pixel count. It would be best to use 720x480 anamorphic setting, or use 640x480 anamorphic encode to save space, and possibly even lower. What if they want AC-3 passthrough for a file that will play on their iPad/iPhone but also produce 6-channel sound on the Apple TV?

    This is why presets are great. My suggestion is to use the Universal preset. It produces file that work great with iPod, iPhone, Apple TV and most likely the iPad.
     
  20. GadgetX thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    #20
    Thanks for the guide saving107 but sadly I don't have a mac :p hopefully the windows version will be similar enough
     
  21. GermanSuplex macrumors 6502a

    GermanSuplex

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    #21
    It is.

    If you are converting a DVD, you will need a program like DVD43 to decrypt the DVD's protection for Handbrake to read it, or you can use a program like DVD Shrink to rip only the main movie to your drive, then convert the VIDEO_TS folder. Handbrake, DVD43 and DVDShrink are all free programs.

    I suggest using the Apple Universal preset. 9/10 it will give you a great rip... sometimes you will have to be careful about aspect ratios and cropping though, but that's what the preview feature is for. But in most cases, its as simple as hitting the Universal Preset, hit preview, then if you like what you see, hit convert.
     
  22. gan6660 macrumors 65816

    gan6660

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    #22
    I just use the universal preset, its easy and it works on all apple products.
     
  23. jenniferrung macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    #23
    The ipod friendly video format is MP4 format. I guess you must get a lot of suggestions of video converters.

    But here I want to suggest you a specifically desgined video to ipod converter. It will help you to convert any video to iPod video format.

    hope will help. You can google moyea video to ipod converter to find it.
     
  24. zedsdead macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #24
    For now, use the Apple Universal Preset if you want to make sure the file works on everything Apple.

    If you just care about the iPad, use the Apple TV preset and change the dimensions to fit the iPad's.
     
  25. t0mat0 macrumors 603

    t0mat0

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Home
    #25
    If you have a main machine running and you don't want to convert all, I'm sure here wa an iPhone app that could ship to the iPad that basically used the main majone to stream the video to the iPhone. No need to convert in that case. Though I'd imagine you'd want some stored locally on te iPad in the correct format.
     

Share This Page