iPad vs. Netbook for college student

Discussion in 'iPad' started by brtdud7, Mar 28, 2012.

1. brtdud7 macrumors newbie

First post on here

I'm a college student and currently use a netbook for class. It has a 1.66 GHz atom processor and 2 GB of RAM (just posted for reference). I use it in class only, with Microsoft Word, a PDF program, and the internet. I have a full size laptop (PC) at home.

My mom just upgraded from an iPad to an iPad 2 and wants to give me her old iPad 1. My question is, to anyone who uses an iPad in class or knows, would using the iPad to take notes (given I get the external keyboard and case with stand) and do stuff be more efficient than using a netbook?

Thanks

2. Joey225 macrumors member

With all that stuff to carry? The netbook would be more efficient.

3. arctier macrumors newbie

Since it sounds like you may already have access to both free of cost, I would suggest you try it and see how it works for you. The iPad's effectiveness at certain tasks is really up to how it feels to a given individual.

The iPad is certainly capable of doing what you need.

4. kevinfulton.ca macrumors 6502

If you have the keyboard case it would probably be about the same if you're just taking notes. For students though, I would recommend an 11inch MBA instead of either. If all you're doing is stuff in Office then it would probably replace your netbook and main computer. That being said it sounds like you could probably go ahead and try it out for yourself before spending money on the keyboard case. I'd try it for a week and see how it treats you.

5. brtdud7 thread starter macrumors newbie

No, I'll never ever buy a Macbook Air, Pro, or any apple computer for that matter. Also, why would you recommend a $1000 laptop for someone only using Office? Especially a money-tight student? I see that too much in my classes, people with $1000+ MBPs only going on Facebook and using Word

6. lokster macrumors 6502

lokster

hear hear! im agreed to this