iPad web browser

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Alexmo123, Mar 12, 2011.

  1. Alexmo123 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    #1
    I have been using the iPad 1 for a little bit now and looking at the possibility of a new browser.

    Couple questions:

    1: I understand that IOS 4.3 has made significant improvements to web browser, would these improvements be seen in non-safari web browsers or only safari?

    2: Any advice on which browser to get or not get if it is a good decision?
     
  2. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #2
    1. It only affects Safari since every Web browser uses its own JavaScript engine.

    2. Stick with Safari for the iPad.
     
  3. gravytrain84 macrumors 6502a

    gravytrain84

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    LA
    #3
    I'm using mercury and love it. Tabs make all the diff
     
  4. omyard macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    #4
    After using Safari, Atomic and Terra I have to say Mercury is the best. For only a $1 and it's a universal app too.
     
  5. LiloThePleo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
  6. UniPro macrumors regular

    UniPro

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #6
    Anyone know what happened to atomic? I can't seem to find it in the AppStore
     
  7. Moyank24 macrumors 601

    Moyank24

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Location:
    in a New York State of mind
    #7
    I use Atomic on both my iPad and iPhone and couldn't be happier. As a previous poster said about another browser, the tabs make all the difference.
     
  8. LinkMx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    #8
    No they don't, all browsers on iOS use Webkit, so the improvements should affect all browsers, although they might need to be updated to do so.
     
  9. Maaz macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    #9
    It got taken down for an update. They said it will be back up soon.
     
  10. gravytrain84 macrumors 6502a

    gravytrain84

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    LA
    #10
    Why doesn't safari add tabs and pull to refresh? That would be ideal
     
  11. master-ceo macrumors 65816

    master-ceo

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    The SUN
  12. iMattcotv macrumors 6502

    iMattcotv

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    #12
    You guys realize that Safari has the ability to place a bunch of bookmarks below the tools bar?

    Its basically the same as having tabs ;D
     
  13. Calidude macrumors 68000

    Calidude

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    #13
  14. handheldgames macrumors 65816

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Location:
    Pacific NW, USA
    #14
    Upgrade to The ipad2. CPU and ram is what you need :)
     
  15. Vizin, Mar 13, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2013
  16. master-ceo macrumors 65816

    master-ceo

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    The SUN
    #16
    Yes sir. No more page refresh! :cool:
     
  17. Bluemeanie1976 macrumors 6502a

    Bluemeanie1976

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Location:
    Veliko Tarnovo, Bulgaria
    #17
    Indeed... The original ipad reloads anyway.
     
  18. JulianL macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Location:
    London, UK
    #18
    Correct on WebKit. There is good evidence however that the rest of your sentence isn't accurate for the current iOS 4.3 release, as described in my post here: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=12110332

    I don't know what Apple are playing at. The kind interpretation is that they want one revision of nitro in the wild, but with controlled access (only from Safari), to make sure it is 100% bug free and/or to do final performance optimisation. The unkind interpretation is that they are trying to drive third party applications off the platform.

    - Julian
     
  19. BergerFan macrumors 68020

    BergerFan

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    Mos Eisley
    #19
    Not quite.
    The Bookmarks Bar is nice, but it reloads the page, every time you touch a bookmark, even if the bookmark is to the same page, you're already on.
     

Share This Page