Iphone 3G (activate without SIM)

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by xpsm1730, Dec 26, 2008.

  1. xpsm1730 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    #1
    Ok so here it is

    A friend said i can use the iphone 3g without the SIM - I only want to use all the features on the iphone except the actual phone feature. He said I should take the SIM out before starting the phone.

    My phone just arrived in the post. I opened the package, took the sim out and started the phone for the first time. It read - insert sim to activate the phone.

    My question is - can I activate and use the phone without the sim? I don't want to use it as a phone, just as an ipod and use the wifi and organizer etc.

    Can someone help me activate it? What happens if i start it with the AT&T sim that came with the phone and then take the sim out after activation - will it get locked? will it still work?

    Ideally i want to activate it without ever putting the sim in.

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #2
    What you need to do is download pwnage tool and run that to jailbreak your phone. You will be able to download a bunch of cool stuff that apple doesn't allow, like a video recorder, mms etc. for example. When you are running pwnage tool it will ask you if you are using an official carrier and you click "no". It will "hactivate" your phone and you won't need to use a sim card.
     
  3. xpsm1730 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    #3
    are you on gtalk? can you guide me through it?
     
  4. SchneiderMan macrumors G3

    SchneiderMan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Location:
    Apple state
    #4
    go to hackint0sh forums..
     
  5. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #5
    I have a google email, how do i do gtalk? pm with your screen name or something
     
  6. ex8886 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    #6
    In order to activate it through iTunes, you need a working AT&T sim card, either the one that came with it, or you can buy a cheap $10 prepaid phone and use that AT&T sim card that came with that phone to activate it (worked for me). The phone works perfectly fine for everything except the phone when you take out the sim card (even GPS), and it says "No Sim" in the status bar.
     
  7. xpsm1730 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    #7
    can you add me

    amitbmehta@gmail.com

    right

    i have the atnt sim that came with the phone

    how do i do it?
     
  8. SchneiderMan macrumors G3

    SchneiderMan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Location:
    Apple state
    #8
    forget about that att sim card, use your own sim card that works
     
  9. xpsm1730 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    #9
    i dont have one

    i use a cdma phone
     
  10. SchneiderMan macrumors G3

    SchneiderMan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Location:
    Apple state
    #10
    then you should just get a free sim card and use it as a prepaid phone. it works just like the one you have, no contract
     
  11. xpsm1730 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    #11
    is there any way to activate it without a sim?
     
  12. CocoaPuffs macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    #12
    Why can't you just activate the phone through iTunes? Activate it and then remove the sim card, and it'll work just fine. Jailbreak is not necessary.
     
  13. xpsm1730 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    #13
    how do i do that
     
  14. bradenwh macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    #14
    I'm assuming that you do not understand that he does NOT have an AT&T contract. Without one, iTunes will not activate his iPhone.
    He'll need to hacktivate it.
     
  15. NFLBlitze1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    #15
    wouldn't you be better off with an ipod touch?
     
  16. xpsm1730 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    #16
    correct

    i just got the phone today in the post

    it is NOT on any contract but has an att sim

    i want use it without the phone feature

    but when i start it without the sim it says insert sim to activate phone - im afraid if i insert the sim to activate it it will get locked

    how can i start it without the sim?
     
  17. jason72780 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #17
    If you got it from att in the mail then you have 30 days to activate it through them or you'll get charged $175 early termination. I'm assuming that's where you got it from because if you bought it on eBay it wouldve been activated in store when the original purchaser bought it.
     
  18. jason72780 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #18
    Best bet would be the touch. You'll only lose the gps and camera.
     
  19. SchneiderMan macrumors G3

    SchneiderMan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Location:
    Apple state
    #19
    dude. do what i tell you,
    1. put the sim card back in.
    2. it will tell you to connect to itunes or activate.
    3. dont do anything.
    4. download the program from the link i gave you, step by step to unlock and activate your iphone.
    if you have a pc
    if you have a mac
     
  20. Mr. Giver '94 macrumors 68000

    Mr. Giver '94

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #20
    I was thinkin' the same thing....
     
  21. Mr. Giver '94 macrumors 68000

    Mr. Giver '94

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #21
    Did you buy it on ebay??? The seller may have been confused because it seems odd that they sent you a SIM card but said it wasn't on contract. It's impossible to buy one from AT&T or Apple without activating it and adding it to your contract etc. first unless you cancel and pay the ETF but there are a bunch of other policies that go along with it. My serious advice would be to return it if you have the option and buy an iPod Touch. You won't have to deal with all of this and you still get almost all of the same features. Plus with all the hacking you'd have to do to the phone you'll lose those features anyway because GPS needs a SIM card to work. Hope you're able to work this all out. :)
     
  22. Robby9279 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    #22
    I think most of us were as well...
     
  23. xpsm1730 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    #23
    It says hold down shift and click the restore button

    where is the restore button on itunes ? I cant find it anywhere
     
  24. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #24
    ;) wow..... anyways did you even look at the tutorial that shneiderman told you to look at? look at step nine if you are using a mac... it shows you right there what the restore button looks like :eek:
     
  25. xpsm1730 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    #25
    the restore button would come up only if i have activated the phone first and am now trying to jail break it right?

    This is a NEW phone just out of the box - never been activated.

    so when i connected it to itunes the options i got were

    register and continue
     

Share This Page