iPhone 3G S Activation and purchase nightmare.

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Domreis, Jun 20, 2009.

1. Domreis macrumors newbie

Hello,

Let me start off that I proudly waited inline for my 32GB iPhone 3G S for 4 hours -- I was number 2 inline at my local AT&T store. I was lucky enough to get the phone and get it activated and out of the store smoothly. It was not until I started playing with my new baby that I realized it was defective. The camera on it did not work. The "shutter" would not open. Being I had only had the phone for an hour I immediately went back to my AT&T store to get a new one. After getting the run down at the AT&T store I was told that I must go to the nearest Apple Store (70 miles away) to have the phone swapped out. After talking to store management they were persistent that this was the only way to go about my issue, even though they still had the phone in stock.

After arriving at my Apple Store I find out that I was given false information. Being that the phone was purchased at an AT&T store you guys can not exchange it because it did not come from their inventory so they can't bring it into their inventory. The Genius who was very helpful advises me to go to the Corporate AT&T store that is about a block away from the Apple Store to have them do the exchange. Once I arrive at the AT&T store I am forced by their concierge to wait in the line of about 25 people. After waiting about an hour I finally get to talk to an associate. They were very unhelpful and tried to push the issue back onto apples shoulders. Getting frustrated I ask for the manager. After explaining the issue to the manager he unhappily exchanges the phone for me. Unfortunately we were unable to activate it because the system was so overloaded.