iPhone 3G soft unlock ready!!!

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by DannyBres, Dec 16, 2008.

  1. DannyBres macrumors 65816

    DannyBres

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
  2. Knolly macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    #2
    Well, it's completed. Ready is what they're working on at the moment, haha.

    But yeah, excellent news either way.
     
  3. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #3
    Happy New Year, everypeoples. The Dev Team delivers!

    Aaaand then six days later, Apple releases 2.3 and breaks it again.
     
  4. legaleye3000 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #4
    The baseband they say it will work on... Is that for ANY firmware prior to 2.2, which includes 2.1? Or is it only 2.0.x?

    Thanks
     
  5. Knolly macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    #5
    If you're unsure what you have, go to Settings>General>About and check the Modem Firmware.

    I have 2.2 and 02.11.07, but I've only upgraded using PwnageTool, so I'm not sure what firmware my baseband comes from.
     
  6. legaleye3000 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #6
    I don't have the phone yet... I"m just wondering: Stock, no pwnage done to the phone yet. Which firmware is safe with the upcoming 3G soft unlock from the dev-team...?
     
  7. Pixellated macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    #7
    Is a 3G unlock not useless due to in-store activation?
     
  8. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #8
    Uh, so? Just pay the ETF after a month an you have a freed iPhone.
     
  9. svndmvn Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Italy
    #9
    I think it could also be important for the pay as you go iPhones sold around Europe that could actually be cheaper than the one in US w/ end of contract fee.
     
  10. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #10
    It's already been broken by 2.2, but as long as you don't update the baseband by updating through pwnage tool you are golden. :D Woo hoo my phone is going to be unlocked sooooo sooon!!
     
  11. Roessnakhan macrumors 68040

    Roessnakhan

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    ABQ
    #11
    Sucks that T-Mobile has a different 3G frequency. :(
     
  12. lavrishevo macrumors 68000

    lavrishevo

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    #12
    Just as I said to another user. Here in the U.S. no other carrier will support the 3G frequency the iPhone can currently use except AT&T... So what's the point of unlocking a 3G and be stuck on Edge with crappy t-mobile network?
     
  13. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #13
    Because their plans are much more affordable/reasonably priced than AT&T.
     
  14. lavrishevo macrumors 68000

    lavrishevo

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    #14
    Yes we all know this but the main purpose of having a 3G iPhone is the 3G network. Sure the 3G has gps (sort of) which the first gen. does not but why fork out a good deal of money for the 3G, plus sign the contract then break the contract, pay the fee's, and loose the highspeed service for 30 or 40 a month. To me this is just silly when you could have purchased a 2.5 iPhone for less money and no AT&T contract in the first place and be on T-Moblie. Not the brightest idea in my opinion but to each their own.
     
  15. deadsouls macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    #15
    ummm thats not the only purpose of unlocking. try going overseas and dealing with roaming charges OR switch in a local sim card and save tons of $. this isn't rocket science to think about.
     
  16. KBenton macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    #16
    I have the 3g unlocked with a simunlock for 2.1 firmware.

    Does this mean i will not need the chip anymore if i unlock the software?
     
  17. legaleye3000 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #17
    No one has answered my question yet:

    Which firmware (stock, without pwning) is the unlock good for? 2.0.x or is 2.1 fine?
     
  18. CKohkah macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #18
    Anything below 2.2 will be fine.
     
  19. jmmo20 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    #19


    Yeeeeeeeeeeeah right.. because ONLY americans actually go buy iphones nowadays.

    As someone said already, the most common reason to unlock is for travelling abroad.. buy a local sim card and get a local number thus avoiding roaming rip-offs
     
  20. macfan09 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    #20
    When u talk about a 'soft unlock' you're talking pwning!:D
    I think those terms are mutually inclusive.
     
  21. polishmacuser macrumors 6502a

    polishmacuser

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #21
    how about people who travel alot
     
  22. CocoaPuffs macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    #22
    Not true, baseband != firmware. You can have 2.2 firmware with 2.1 baseband.
     
  23. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #23
    To end confusions here:

    If your iPhone is updated via iTunes to 2.2.0 then you ARE screwed. 2.2.0 has a higher baseband than what the unlock can, well, unlock.

    If your iPhone has 2.2.0 and has the 2.11.07 baseband, then you are FINE.

    The 2.11.07 baseband corresponds to 2.1.0.

    Now,

    Software - runs your iPhone, widgets ad stuff.
    Baseband - The communication software of the iPhone. Screw this up and you can end with an iPod Touch.

    Firmware - Can mean both software and baseband. It just depends in which sense you use it. Just be sure to be clear enough for people to understand.

    Example " My software version is 2.2.0 and firmware is 1.45.00"
    Example "My firmware was updated to 2.1.0, but I kept my old 1.48.00 baseband"

    See, not rocket science people. lol;):p
     
  24. lavrishevo macrumors 68000

    lavrishevo

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    #24
    Again, the whole point of my post is to inform, by far the larger base of unlocked iPhone users in the United States, who use their iPhones on the only other carrier which supports the phone that 3G will not work if they go to T-Mobile. Don't get your nickers in a knot... :p
     
  25. ex8886 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    #25

    Yeah, too bad they don't sell the first generation iPhone anymore, which means you're wrong. When I was shopping for a 16 gig iPhone a couple months ago, the cheapest ones on craigslist were around $450. So forking out $450 and not really knowing what you get isn't too smart (1st gen scratches easily). Buying a 16 gig 3G from AT&T ended up costing me $580. So a difference of $130, and a GPS, and 1 year warranty, and the security of knowing that it's a NEW phone.

    So it must suck not having 3G on T-Mobile, right? Not really, I would probably be forced to get rid of my $6 unlimited edge plan, and upgrade to something more expensive. And I really don't use internet much, except for maps, so paying $30 bucks with AT&T would not be worth it. I also travel to Europe every summer for a month, so I'm sure there will be a provider with a compatible 3G network.
     

Share This Page