iPhone Iphone 3GS Bricked

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by rezzur, Aug 31, 2013.

  1. rezzur macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    #1
    Hello all, basically my grandad asked me if i could unlock his iphone so i said sure, i have not unlocked an iphone before but i have on other phones.

    i followed a guide via youtube and i guess i didn't go with my gut feeling and just leave it, its QR1524 which i think is after the week where the bb fries, i tried to unlock it but when i did everything (jailbreak install cydia, upgrade ipad baseband, downgrade, when it loaded up no service, no wifi ect) i tried to restore via itunes, no luck was then stuck in recovery, tried to kick it out of recovery with tiny umbrella, blackrain ect, went back to redsnow restored via 6.0 ios, back where i was with no wifi ect, tried to downgrade baseband no go, looked everywhere. btw before i started this it was ios 6.1.3 n after doing this everyone said you cant unlock on 6.1.3 at the minute.

    so i guess i messed up, is there anything i could try to just get it to work or i have seen other people on forums say you might get lucky and restore it back i don't know, hope some one can help out been trying to fix it for 8 hours now >.>cheers.

    p.s it constantly restarts also.
     
  2. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #2
    With are the first 5 digits of the serial number?

    You can only install the iPad BB on 3GS's which were made before week 26 of 2011
     
  3. rezzur thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    #3
    QR1524 they are so i guess that's year 2011 week 52

    EDIT: unless QR means quatre 1 week 52 the model number is A1303
     
  4. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #4
    Iphone 3GS Bricked

    It's refurbished, but it should flash ok

    Try to downgrade to 4.1 which is still signed, do the BB downgrade there, then restore to 6.1.3 while preserving your BB, see the other 3GS downgrade running thread
     
  5. rezzur thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    #5
    So it is not over the week where it messes up :D ? how do i go about doing this properly, i have redsn0w 0.9.15b3 and ive downloaded firmwares 4.2, 5.0.1, 6.0 and 6.1.3
     
  6. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #6
    The issue with refurbished phones is that Apple gives them a new serial number after the refurbishment, so without knowing the original serial number, this phone might have had the Toshiba bb chip and you "may have" fried the bb chip.

    If this phone was originally manufactured after the 27th week of 2011 or Apple replaced the bb chip during refurbishment, you are out of luck.
     
  7. rezzur thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    #7
    It was my dad's old contract iphone, he just got the 4s , then had the 4 then had this which is the 3gs and he did get the screen repaired not long after he got it and the contracts was 2 years each if that's any good?
     
  8. rezzur thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    #9
  9. rezzur, Aug 31, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2013

    rezzur thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    #11
    Edit, trying what you said TriJetHero downgrading baseband to 4.1 then restore with 6.1.3 without effecting the baseband.
     
  10. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #12
    Did you put it in powned DFU? Else try regular DFU.

    Normal or recovery won't work.

    4 different modes!
     
  11. rezzur thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    #13
    Well i put it into DFU mode:

    "1. Press both power button and home.
    2. After 10 sec first release the power button, then the home button.
    3. The screen of the iPhone should now be blank and not have the iTunes connect.
    4. Restore worked in this state for me... "

    then tried to restore with 4.1 failed, trying to downgrade the baseband to 4.1 on redsn0w then ill try that restore to 6.1.3 without effecting the baseband, hope it works this has put me off iphones for life lol.
     
  12. rezzur thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    #14
    Seems redsn0w won't let me restore it keeps coming up "seems you did not follow the instructions" when i blatently do would it be possible to just restore back to 6.1.3 with itunes been as though i just flashed the bb with 4.1?
     
  13. rezzur thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    #15
    Ok so i reflashed the bb to 4.1, came on but wifi disabled, so i tried to restore with itunes on 6.1.3 did not work, stuck in recovery now, tried to restore with 6.1.3 on redsn0w cant because it just does not let me even in pnu mode anyone got a simple step by step guide :/
     
  14. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #16
    Already gave you that, you are confusing all the different modes and don't read or take the advise.

    Flashing a firmware is different then a BB

    First you need to flash the firmware to 4.1
    Then downgrade the BB to 5.13.04 or reflash the ipad BB

    After that you can restore the firmwareby means of redsn0w or sn0wbreeze to 6.1.3 while preserving the BB

    Educate yourself otherwise you'll never get it...
     
  15. rezzur, Aug 31, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2013

    rezzur thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    #17
    Apologies this is all new to me and it is confusing.

    Edit its already on 4.1, i have tried to downgrade it via redsn0w but get the error "please reboot the device in normal open mode" but i cant go into that due to it being in a recovery loop >.<
     
  16. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #18
    iOS firmware version is different than the baseband version

    In redsn0w, when you press jailbreak, it should show you an option that says downgrade baseband. If it successfully downgraded, it should be on 5.13.xx

    Use tinyumbrella to check the baseband version. Is it 6.15.00?
     
  17. rezzur thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    #19
    I have been trying to do that but it says exploit fails or please reboot to normal on the iphone, the phone is on a recovery loop, and where does it show the baseband version in tinyumbrella? all i can see is exit, enter or fix recovery, recovery devices and general, log and advanced but none of them display the baseband ? thank you.
     
  18. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #20
    I believe if you plug in your device and click on it on the left bar. At the bottom, it'll show you all the info about your device

    Are you able to get to the home screen?
     
  19. rezzur thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    #21
    Nope, its stuck in recovery i see where you mean but my device shows as -1095279438 and i cant see the firmware at all.
     
  20. rezzur, Aug 31, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2013

    rezzur thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    #22
    I got it out of recovery mode and back onto the home screen, downgraded the baseband , now trying to restore via 6.1.3 but redsn0w won't let me keeps saying you aint following the directions when i am >.>

    Edit got it to work but then whilst restoring it says exploit failed, plus on tinyumbrella it still does not show any firmware :/
     
  21. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #23
    You need to point redsn0w to 6.0 cause it is not updated for 6.1.3

    Go to extras/select firmware
    Select 6.0 ( download is necessary)

    Then go to extras/even more/restore

    Follow instruction, if it says turn off do it by slifing to off.

    If it doesn't work use snowbreeze to restore to 6.1.3
     
  22. rezzur thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    #24
    Couldnt find 6.0 blobs for this device on the apple or cydia servers, thats for 6.0?
     
  23. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #25
    why is it you don't follow instrutions???

    redsn0w has not been updated for 6.1.3 so you can't restore to it directly, you need to make redsn0w look at the 6.0 IPSW method while actually restoring to 6.1.3

    so again:

    DOWNLOAD 6.0 IPSW+6.1.3 IPSW
    in redsn0w go to Extras/Select IPSW, select the 6.0 IPSW

    now go to Extras/Even more/Restore and select the 6.1.3 IPSW

    FOLLOW INSTRUCTIONS
     

Share This Page