iPhone 3GS doing background tasks....well!!(video)

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by hefeglass, Jul 5, 2009.

  1. hefeglass macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    #1
    When i first tried jailbreaking my iPhone 3g, i really wanted to use the "backgrounder" app..but the iPhone just didnt have the memory to do any kind of background tasks..
    well..since the recent release of the 3gs jailbreak, i HAD to try backgrounder again on my 3gs... i was happy to find that it did work on the 3gs with no problems.
    first thing i tried was opening up pandora and playing some streaming music and then playing a game at the same time.
    i was very pleasantly surprised to find out that the phone didnt show ANY signs of slowing down. I chose to play pandora and Rolando 2. its hard to hear in the video, but the sound effects for the game still play..but you get to listen to pandora! When i open rolando 2 in the video, the reason it is so instant is because it was already running in the background as well.
    after enabling backgrounding for pandora, i sorta stumble around for a second trying to find the game i wanted to play..then i open up rolando. please forgive the horrible playing, it was hard to hold it in front of the camera and play at the same time. When i close rolando, i hold the home button for a second to disable backgrounding for it (it didnt really need to be in the background for this demo, but was still in it from previous experimenting). Then i open pandora which is still playing in the background and I pause the music and disable backgrounding for pandora.
    I havent played around too much, but I have tried pandora using safari/mail/text.. i opened a synth program and made a loop and let it keep playing while i opened tiger woods and played for a little while with loop i made still going. I havent had anything close on me yet...!
    i havent seen anyone post up anything about backgrounder on the 3gs yet, so i figured I would post this up!
    this was the reason i wanted to jailbreak in the first place and now with the 3gs it works great!

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RdBAQOijW5Y
     
  2. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #2
    Does winterboard work/perform better on the 3GS?
     
  3. hefeglass thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    #3
    i havent tried winterboard on the 3gs yet, but i read somewhere online that it isnt working yet...saurik might need to make a few modifications for it to work..(then again, i have tried it myself yet..so it could work..)
     
  4. nfl46 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #4
    Winterboard is NOT 100% working on 3G S yet. He's going to update it to work though. He didn't say a date.

    Edit: I forgot to add the word not.
     
  5. hefeglass thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
  6. macfanboy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #6
    Peer Edit: Winterboard is NOT 100% working on 3G S yet
     
  7. Kahnyl macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #7
    How does backgrounding work now that voice control is mapped to the home button?
     
  8. hefeglass thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    #8
    it works perfectly....hold it for a little bit for backgrounding...a little longer for voice control.


    .....i never use voice control myself...but when i was enabling backgrounding..i held the home button too long once and voice control popped up.
     
  9. Kahnyl macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
  10. TapOut macrumors regular

    TapOut

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Location:
    Erie, PA
    #10
    freaking A ...MOBILE substrate does not work on 3GS for me.. or alot of people

    everytime idownload something with mobile substrate it MESSES up my iphone.(springboard crash to the point where it WONT exit safe mode and ihave to restore)

    this is the 5 time restore because of downloading something with mobile substrate,....i have no idea how you got it to work.
     
  11. rez07 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #11
    If you jump from 40-50mb of free RAM to 160mb, one does not need to be a genius to know multitasking will be better...backgrounder is usable on the 3G/2G, but only to run one, or two, 3rd party apps on background. On the the 3gs, you can run much more...
     
  12. nfl46 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #12
    Lol, yeah, is NOT. My bad.
     
  13. Haephestos macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    #13
    I found that backgrounding apps on my 3G gave me no noticeable slowdown, nor did the background apps ever quit. I also used the task list mode for backgrounder.
     
  14. hefeglass thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    #14
    ^im guessing you didnt really push the 3g too much..

    I wasnt even able to run tiger woods and pandora on the 3g...


    last night I was running rolando 2, tiger woods, and pandora and the memory program...all of them stayed open and nothing slowed down.
    i was very impressed....and the 3g doesnt have anything close to the hardware needed to pull off multitasking. It CAN work..but not reliably.
     
  15. TSX macrumors 68030

    TSX

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #15
    Apple knows multi-tasking will work, it's the battery life they're worried about.
     
  16. Kahnyl macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #16
    Yeah, how's battery life? And what were you seeing in the memory app? How much was used/left?
     
  17. JD914 macrumors 6502a

    JD914

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Location:
    Dutchess County NY
    #17
    Confirmed working on iPhone 3G and iPod touch 2 gen. What is Apple waiting for? :rolleyes:
     
  18. Kahnyl macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #18
    It's been working on those for ages.

    Apple just don't want people pissed about draining their batteries.
     
  19. hefeglass thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    #19
    one of the things I like the most about backgrounder is the way it is used...very smart. And it works fine with voice control...

    so, this morning I loaded x-gps into memory, beatmaker (pretty serious resource hog...playing a loop i just made with the sequencer), tweetie, and the memory app. It was listing 50mb or more when all those apps were in memory. I have loaded it up with as much as I could think that anyone would possibly do..and i got it down to 10mb..but it still ran fine and nothing closed on me.

    the battery life goes down faster...i will have to play with it more to get a better idea of how much. I am going to drive to work in a few minutes (an hour drive) and i am going to have x-gps on in the background charting the route while listening to podcasts via bluetooth on my car head unit. We'll see how the battery looks after a little while.
    though its not a fair test because one would normally have the phone charging when using gps.

    there arent too many apps where it makes sense to background enable them. mainly for gps or internet music streaming apps...while playing a game or something. the iphone is perfectly capable of doing any kind of (logical) multitasking with its third party apps.

    ill post up more videos later tonight if i get a chance..



    ^,^^ to say that backgrounder works on the 3g and touch would be like saying the 3g and 2g are capable of recording video...hardly usable in my opinion.
     
  20. Kahnyl macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #20
    True. I'd say 3/4 of the times I've tried it on the 3G the backgrounded apps closed.
     
  21. nfl46 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #21
    Works PERFECT on the 3GS! I LOVE IT! I got a lot of stuff open and the phone still isn't slowing down!
     
  22. jhkaplan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #22
    While I've gotten Backgrounder to work pretty well, there's one thing I can't figure out (and maybe I'm doing it wrong).

    I will start streaming a baseball game on MLB At Bat, then hold down the home button to enable backgrounder. I can then move to, open, and use any other app while the game still streams in the background. This part is excellent.

    However, when I exit the other app and go back to the MLB At Bat App to continue watching the game, the MLB app immediately crashes and leaves me back at the home screen. Am I doing something wrong here? To me, this would be perfect if I could re-open At Bat (or any other app running in the background) and return to the last state it was in before I left.
     
  23. Haephestos macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    #23
    Would you call running pandora while playing Rolando pushing it? That worked fine...
     
  24. bkborn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    #24
    Wow, great vid. I think I'm going to switch buy a 3GS today. My 2G is just so sluggish and it gets frustrating using the phone sometimes. Have you noticed any instability since installing bg'er? I know it made my phone act all retarded sometimes.
     
  25. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #25
    Exactly. Look at all the Pre reviews. "Great phone. TERRIBLE battery life."
     

Share This Page