iphone 3gs with data plan required?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by mrdinh, Jan 15, 2010.

  1. mrdinh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    #1
    do you have to have the data plan with at&t? can you just pay for the minutes like a reg cell phone only?

    my wife has one but doesn't not use the data plans at all, waste of $30/month..thinking she can cancel? any penalty for that with at&t?

    thanks
    phat
     
  2. blackdognorth macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    #2
    mandatory data plan
     
  3. Ace134blue macrumors 6502a

    Ace134blue

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #3
    Dont listen to him, sure it is mandatory but there is a workaround. After you buy the iphone, tell them a month later after you have had the phone and tell them you want to switch it to a cheap phone that doesnt require a data plan. After you do that just swap the sims cards and it works. :)
     
  4. eplchamps0305 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    #4
    Yep. I have been doing this since my iPhone 3g and on my 3gs. I only add data when I go on vacation.
     
  5. rWally macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #5
    So I assume you get charge on a per kB rate then or do you just not use data at all?
     
  6. STEVESKI07 macrumors 68000

    STEVESKI07

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #6
    I purchased a Mercedes but can't afford to put premium gas in it. Maybe I should have just bought a Nissan?
     
  7. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Cal
    #7
    That analogy doesn't apply here since he said the wify doesn't use 3G service, not that she can't afford it. :)

    But yeah, if she doesn't use it, thats a waist of 30 bucks there.
     
  8. STEVESKI07 macrumors 68000

    STEVESKI07

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #8
    I know it doesn't really apply, but I just don't see what the point of having an iPhone is if you don't use the data. Get an iPod touch.
     
  9. eplchamps0305 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    #9
    Getting an iPod touch would mean carrying around two devices. iPod touch does not sent text messages or make phone calls so it's not a suitable alternative. I enjoy my iPhone without a data plan, why pay for dat you don't need.
     
  10. Knowlege Bomb macrumors 601

    Knowlege Bomb

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #10
    This guy beat me to it.

    So +1.
     
  11. madmaxmedia macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #11
    Can you explain how this works? I had assumed that when you buy an iPhone you sign a 2-year contract that includes data plan for the entire 2 years.

    Or do you only end up paying for a new phone from them, and just pay for a cheap phone but are able to cancel the data plan?

    That sounds great! I'm surprised they let you do this.
     
  12. eplchamps0305 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    #12
    Just switch your sim into another phone and call Att and tell them you want to remove the data plan. Then put the sim back into the iPhone. To prevent your phone from going online tell them to put a data block on your line. Mind you with a data block you can't send or recieve mms. Alternatively there is a website you go to on your iPhone that changes the apn settings on your phone and blocks data. That's what I did because I wanted mms.
     
  13. madmaxmedia macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #13
    Wow, that's pretty awesome. So no one has ever had problems doing this, and AT&T insisting that you continue the data plan due to the iPhone contract?

    Sorry for continuing to ask about this, I just want to make sure. :) Being able to do this could put me over the top and get an iPhone 3GS.

    Thanks!

     
  14. eplchamps0305 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    #14
    The contract is to keep your line in service for the two years. I have had my iPhone since launch date of 3g. That is 18 months, I have had data only for 4 months total. I activate data when I travel on vacation only, when I return I cancel it.
     
  15. mastershakess macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    Bel Air, MD
    #15
    So if your not using data, your just using your iPhone as a phone? Why pay $199.99 for just a phone when you can get basic phones for less?
     
  16. eplchamps0305 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    #16
    Here we go again. A basic phone can't sync with iTunes or have navigations software with turn by turn or great games, or advanced calender, or note taking app or play movies or have a compass or a nice touch screen or etc etc. You sound like the iPhone will not work without data
     
  17. eplchamps0305 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    #17
    Answer this question. Is the iPod touch useless when outside a wifi zone?
     
  18. Knowlege Bomb macrumors 601

    Knowlege Bomb

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #18
    This is news to me... You can use MMS with the APN block?

    What's that website?
     
  19. bobr1952 macrumors 68020

    bobr1952

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne, FL
    #19
    Yeah--I guess that is me even though I use it a lot at home via Wi-Fi but I wouldn't want it without the data plan--just the way I am about stuff like that. And yes, my car is supposed to have premium and that's what it gets!
     
  20. iMacDragon macrumors 65816

    iMacDragon

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #20
    MMS is on a different APN to regular data
     
  21. mastershakess macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    Bel Air, MD
    #21
    Well if thats the case, I'd rather use an iPod Touch and a cheap Verizon phone (at least you get better coverage).
     
  22. eplchamps0305 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    #22
    I can't remember the website. Do a search on here and you will find it. Yes mms will work
     
  23. eplchamps0305 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    #23
    Great. You catch my drift.
     
  24. leomac08 macrumors 68020

    leomac08

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #24
    since when did you need premium fuel to drive mercedes? all u need is regular! :p
     
  25. ToroidalZeus macrumors 68020

    ToroidalZeus

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    #25
    Depends on the car. Most will simply lose power if you put regular in them but some will actually have the engine fail.
     

Share This Page