iPhone 4 not showing up in iTunes--have tried everything! Please help....

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by southiechics, Aug 4, 2010.

  1. southiechics macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #1
    Hey all, I know there was a thread similar to this, but I tried everything in it (see below) and nothing worked. My iPhone 4 will not show up in iTunes, I've rebooted computer, the phone, tried other usb ports, even different cables. I am completely at a loss. Any help would be so greatly appreciated.

    Here's what I already tried:
    Disconnect the iPhone from the computer.
    Close all running programs on the computer.
    Create a new user with Admin privileges on the computer.
    Log out of the original user.
    Log in to the newly created user.
    Install iTunes on the new user.
    Attached your iPhone.
    iTunes should now see your phone.
    Eject your iPhone from iTunes.
    Close iTunes.
    Log off the newly created user.
    Log in to the original user.
    Launch iTunes.
    Connect iPhone.
     
  2. RRmalvado macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    #2
  3. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #3
  4. RRmalvado macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    #4
    Did I say the wrong thing?
     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    Try another computer and see if it recognizes it.
    Also makes sure you update your system and itunes to the latest version.
     
  6. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #6
    Well, a DFU is only last resort option. I'd say trying another computer first.
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    Well said.
    And if itunes is not recognizing it now, it prob wont recognize it again in order to restore it with dfu mode.
     
  8. RRmalvado macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    #8
    Ahh that's right, good point.
     
  9. appleguy123 macrumors 603

    appleguy123

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Location:
    15 minutes in the future
    #9
    If you're on a Mac can you see if it appears in image capture? A pc try the cameras connected under my computer.
     
  10. adams58 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    #10
    I had that same problem after updating to the latest I tunes. I tried a new cable and it worked but I see you have already tried that, So my bad!
     

Share This Page