iPhone 4 proceessor speed

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by countrydweller, Jun 7, 2010.

  1. countrydweller macrumors 6502

    countrydweller

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #1
    Did Jobs ever mention what speed it will run at?
     
  2. spyda macrumors 6502a

    spyda

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    No, but I would expect it's underclocked from 1GHz, possibly 800-900MHz
     
  4. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
  5. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #5
    I'm guessing it's underclocked to 800 MHz. But with the customization they've been able to do, I wouldn't be surprised if it benches as well as a SnapDragon.
     
  6. marksman macrumors 603

    marksman

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
  7. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #7
    He left out a lot of technical details, TTYTT. We’ll know them soon enough though.

    I think I’m buying, especially without a 3GS at 32GB (or 16 GB for that matter).
     
  8. Apollo 13 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    #8
    could be the same clock as the 3GS since he didn't mention it. He would have brought it up being faster then the 3GS.
     
  9. kenypowa macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Location:
    somewhere
    #9
    Not only would he bring it up, he'd presented a video showing how magical and unbelievable the new processor is. :p
     
  10. spyda macrumors 6502a

    spyda

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    #10
  11. chembox macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    #11
    I don't believe they posted any CPU/RAM stats on the 3GS nor iPad, too.
     
  12. tuckerstevenson macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    #12
    I was going to say, it's probably reminiscent of the iPad's performance. Same chip.
     
  13. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #13
    If it's e.g. 800MHz, it's 20% slower. I don't see it making much difference though, most apps still run fine on first gen iPhone
     
  14. mat25 macrumors regular

    mat25

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    #14
    A4 Processor

    I'm really happy to see that iPhone 4 has the A4 processor, but Apple has failed to mention the clock speed (as far as I know, have not seen the keynote yet) which leads me to believe that it is under clocked. Your thoughts?
     
  15. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #15
    Failure to mention clock speeds doesn't really mean it is under clocked. However, it would not surprise me at all if they did under clock the iPhone.
     
  16. r1ch4rd macrumors 6502a

    r1ch4rd

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #16
    Under clocking is pretty sensible on a phone. It would improve the battery life.
     
  17. blrossjr79 macrumors newbie

    blrossjr79

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    Space
    #17
    I figure how I look at Apple is that they wont give you too much for your money. I can see that phone NOT being 1GHz, I say this because the new MBP have a I7 chip in them and in the PC world thats a quad core but somehow Apple managed to make it a duo core.....again Apple not giving you much for your money so I figure that if its 31% faster than the 3Gs which is 600MHz I just did the Math of 600 * .31 and got 186 and added that to the 600 for a grand total of 786MHz or they MAY have rounded to 800MHz. Thats my 2 cents though
     
  18. iae610 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
    #18
    The iPhone 4 will be underclocked because when you do that you achieve better battery life. It will be able to hold its own though, and I believe I saw it having 512 MB of ram.
     
  19. Ferris23 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    #19
  20. maturola macrumors 68040

    maturola

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #20
    The Processor core is capable of running up to 1GHZ, is the iPhone running at 1GHz?? doubt it. I think it is underclock to about 733MHz.

    Thermal management and Battey life
     
  21. blrossjr79 macrumors newbie

    blrossjr79

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    Space
    #21
    It may have 512MB RAM but I dont believe its 1GHz, the just assume its that speed because its the same name chip as iPad. Thats just not the Apple way, they wont give that much bang for the buck lol. I learned that when they have a intel Core I7 chip thats NOT a quad core when in a PC its quad all day if you have a I 7
     
  22. zerostar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Location:
    South Florida
    #22
    Uh?? I have an iMac... 2.8GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7

    It most certainly is a QUAD-Core???
     
  23. Fidget08 macrumors regular

    Fidget08

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    #23
    I think hes talking about the macbook pros
     
  24. blrossjr79 macrumors newbie

    blrossjr79

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    Space
    #24
    Yes the MBP I am speaking of because I was going to get one til they said its still a dual core and not quad, the iMac on the other hand does have a quad core in it
     
  25. coasterider macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #25
    Well it does have hyperthreading which makes the two cores into 4 virtual cores.
     

Share This Page