Iphone 4 + VOIP provider + SIPhon+ 3G dataplan =Worth it ?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by CZK, Jan 18, 2011.

  1. CZK macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    #1
    HI !

    I am thinking to buy a 3G dataplan and use VOIP.ms services ( they have phone number in my regional code which is great) in combinaison with SIPhon.

    What you guys think about that ? Good idea ?

    Considering that the dataplan will be around 20-30 per month and i'll have to pay something like 0,5 cent per minute.

    I read somewhere that Telus is not blocking SIP communications on their 3G

    Thanks
     
  2. tempusfugit macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago
    #3
    AT&T in my experience makes for an ok voip connection, but not totally consistent. Would probably be best to get the dataplan with verizon for this end but I dont know how you will swing getting a verizon iphone with no voice plan.
     
  3. CZK thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    #4
    TELUS


    Canada,Quebec,Quebec

    And i own my iphone 4, i can take whatever i want as plan.
     
  4. mickeyho92 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    #5
    Hey, I got a factory unlocked iphone 4 too in Quebec but I wonder how are you getting a data only plan? Rogers and bell won't let me a data only plan for the iphone (perhaps ipad plan?)

    A friend of mine got his Voip working over rogers 3g but with some kind of jailbroken trick to makes the phone believe it's wifi
     
  5. Neverbepeace macrumors 6502a

    Neverbepeace

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #6
    True....I have the att data plan ipad hack and use talkatone+google voice app for voice. It still gets the job done while saving me $70 a month. I also have the SMS GV extension to send/receive texts from the native text app. This set up is great imo.

    I tried textfree but i find them unreliable at this time. Servers are always down and no voicemail....also, over 3g....you will get echos and 2-3 second delays while talking to somebody.

    I have not experienced that in talkatone. Actually, I walked about a mile with perfect quality over 3g.......

    The ONLY downfall to talkatone, is:

    1) The UI....it needs a make over.
    2) If they could some how implement bypassing the "press 1 to accept the call, or press 2 to decline it" That would be great...........
     
  6. mickeyho92 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
  7. dataonly macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    #8
    can anyone confirm if the ipad 3G into iphone hack still works? Also does anyone know if it will work with the iphone 5?
     

Share This Page