Iphone 4S lock by Apple ID

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Chava, Jan 1, 2014.

1. Chava macrumors newbie

HI everybody I'm new to Iphones. I brought an Iphone 4S AT&T from CL when I brought it was lock the seller told me he was going to get it unlock by AT&T and he did but I can not get it activate because is still in his Apple ID account and now when I called or text him he is not responding is there a way around this

2. Nermal Moderator

Nermal

Staff Member

That feature is designed to make stolen phones unusable, so no, there is no way around it. You'll need to continue to try to contact the seller :(

3. Am3r1ca16 macrumors 6502a

Am3r1ca16

Seems like the seller scamed you. And it's even easier to scam somebody that is buying a iPhone for the first time. Sorry man you bought a stolen iPhone nothing you can about it unless you can contact him and see if he can bypass the activation page if it's his iPhone in the first place.

Never trust sellers on CL! I sell and buy all the time on CL. Make sure to check that everything is good before you procced to give him the money. If something is wrong it's better to walk away. Better than being scammed.

4. Brian Y macrumors 68040

Yep, looks like you bought a stolen phone. If it was genuine, he would have no need to sell it with the lock on.

5. 617aircav Suspended

you are left with a paper weight. how much did this lesson cost you?

6. charlituna macrumors G3

charlituna

Nope. Not even apple can remove that lock. Sounds like you got played.

7. blueroom macrumors 603

blueroom

Hopefully thieves will soon realize stolen iOS7 devices have little resale value. Plus buyers should really think twice before buying something that seems like too good a deal.

8. T'hain Esh Kelch macrumors 601

T'hain Esh Kelch

Clearly they do..

9. Nermal Moderator

Nermal

Staff Member

Apple runs the database; it'd be trivial to remove the lock with database access.