iPhone 4S Ram?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by marcusj0015, Oct 4, 2011.

  1. marcusj0015 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #1
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Has 1GB been confirmed?

    Wikipedia has an article that says so, but it was clearly written by a newb...
     
  2. saving107 macrumors 603

    saving107

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca
    #2
    It will not be confirmed until Oct 14th when it goes on sale and iFixIt does a teardown.
     
  3. marcusj0015 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    That's what i was thinking too. :/
     
  4. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #4
    As far as I'm aware it's not been confirmed. I think it's very likely though.
     
  5. wordoflife macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #5
    I tend to thing that it's 512MB :(

    I really wasn't expecting much from this iPhone, but it's seriously disappointing...
     
  6. SoCalRon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    #6
    Ya I think itll be 512MB again. If it was 1gig wouldn't they have said something in the keynote?
     
  7. Apple... macrumors 68020

    Apple...

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Location:
    The United States
    #7
    No. Apple isn't known for announcing the RAM.
     
  8. reck macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    #9
  9. brendu, Oct 4, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2011

    brendu macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #10
    Who cares how much ram is in the thing? The A5 is what matters. iOS5 will run like butter on 512MB ram (it will run on the 3GS with 256) so its silly to complain if the 4S does not have 1GB of ram. That would likely be overkill.
     
  10. ChiMac71 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    #11
    How arrogant is it for a tech company not to reveal such a basic piece of product information?

    Staying at 512 seems like a great way for them to maintain their strategy of planned obsolescence going forward. My 3G with 128MB was hobbled and obsolete within a year since it couldn't speedily run iOS 4. I really don't want to jump on a 4S and find myself in a similar bind just one year from now.
     
  11. Nukemkb macrumors 6502a

    Nukemkb

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    #12
    My iPad 2 runs fine on 512 - I expect the iPhone 4S will too.
     
  12. dmaxdmax macrumors 6502

    dmaxdmax

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    #13
    As arrogant as Rolls-Royce who lists horsepower as "sufficient". It never stopped anyone from buying one of their cars.
     
  13. Pyromonkey83 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    #14
    I'm so glad you just made that analogy. My hat to you.

    I will say this however, with the added functionality of Siri, if the A5 was all it needed, why only run on the iPhone 4S and not the iPad 2? I'm thinking it's going to be 1GB... But I've been wrong before... Like when I thought apple was going to blow me away earlier today...
     
  14. Cod3rror macrumors 68000

    Cod3rror

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

Share This Page