iPhone 4S vs. iPhone 5

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by KirkL, Oct 7, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. KirkL macrumors 6502

Hi,

I'm a college student looking to buy an iPhone. And like many college students, I'm looking to save a little money and I was wondering if it made sense to buy an iPhone 5 and pay $199 when I can get the 4S for $99.

Considering the following, is there a reason for me to get an iPhone 5?
    1. I've never owned a smartphone before and anything over my current phone would be a big upgrade.
    2. I don't really care about the screen-size increase, I think 3.5 is perfect for me.
    3. There's no LTE in college town. It's actually a very small town so I doubt it would get LTE anytime soon.

The only argument I can make in favor of the iPhone 5 (for my needs) is that it is more durable than the 4S from what I've read and it will likely be supported for an extra year of software updates than the 4S.

I think I'd want the phone to work 2-3 years ideally.

Any thoughts? :)

2. ZBoater macrumors G3

ZBoater

For $99 more get the 5. It's faster, has more memory, and will last you longer running the latest an most demanding apps.

3. nostresshere macrumors 68030

And, you can get the 4 for $1. Will work just fine. One of our phones is still the 3g and it works great.

Save your money.

Remember, half of America still does not have a smart phone of any kind. Pretty hard to convince anyone here though.

4. KirkL thread starter macrumors 6502

The faster thing is so relative though. I mean, if I was upgrading from 4S I'd be probably notice it. But considering I've never owned any smartphone I don't think I'd know what I was missing :D Interesting point about the apps. I was thinking about that too.

The future app updates are probably going to be more resource intensive...hmm

The software updates for the 4 are probably going to be dropped soon. Even the 3GS didn't get all the features of iOS 6.