iPhone 5 - Bedside Mode?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by rbenjamin, Sep 28, 2012.

1. rbenjamin macrumors newbie

I am new to the iPhone - coming from a decade of blackberries. I've searched, but not found an answer.

Is there an option (or app) that allows you to set different notification preferences when charging? Blackberry has something called "bedside mode." When you put it in a charger (and you can also require a specific time window) you can set different notifications - such as no vibrate and no ringer.

I know there is the "do not disturb" function. But that is solely triggered by a time window. I'm looking for something that is triggered by charging.

The problem with the do not disturb time window is that I keep irregular hours. Sometimes I'm in bed at 10 and the iPhone is on my bedside table making noise until 11 (when I have the do not disturb set), but other times I am out (usually working) until midnight or beyond - and I don't want my iPhone to automatically go silent.

Having a charging trigger is the perfect solution. My blackberry was set so that if it went in the charger between 10pm and 6am, it would stay silent (except for a couple of pre-defined phone numbers who could make it ring).

Anything similar for an iPhone?

2. Mercenary macrumors 6502a

Yup. When you plug it in just flick that little switch above the volume to put it into silent mode.

3. rbenjamin thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks, but that doesn't stop the vibrating.

4. jbennardo macrumors 6502a

jbennardo

In settings > sounds you can turn off vibrate when silent. It's more of a global solution and probably not what you were looking for but still kind of a workaround.

Do not disturb really is a great option because it stops the phone from doing anything - lighting up, vibrating, etc. It will however continue to work while the phone is awake and in use. So, if you have DND enabled but are reading tweets, the phone will operate as normal. Hope that helps.