iPhone 6 - No TouchID after LCD repair

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by cs.oyen, Sep 26, 2016.

  1. cs.oyen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Location:
    Portugal
    #1
    Hi!

    Today I sent my iPhone 6 to a screen replacement. They replace the screen but after the replacement the TouchID stopped working.

    I got a error message telling me that is not possible to activate TouchID on my phone.

    I already try DFU mode and restore but without success.

    Any way to make that working again?

    Regards.
     
  2. JayLenochiniMac macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New Sanfrakota
  3. cs.oyen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Location:
    Portugal
    #3
    No. My Phone isn't anymore covered by warranty.
    I ask the replacement into a store that do this stuff for phones without warranty or broken.
    (Sorry for my bad English).

    Cheers.
     
  4. tehreflex macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #4
    If Apple did not replace your screen, that is most likely why. If they replaced the Home Button as part of the replacement, the security things don't match any longer so Apple disables TouchID.
     
  5. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #5
    never go through a 3rd party unless it is an apple certified repair store. Hate to be the bearer of bad news, but you are out of luck. Apple probably wouldn't touch the phone now either.
     
  6. cs.oyen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Location:
    Portugal
    #6
    Hi,

    Yes I know about the replacement of home button and the touchID disable but in this case the Home button is the same.
     
  7. Howyalikdemapls macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    #7
    The first thing I would do is go back to the company that replaced the screen.
     
  8. OriginalClone macrumors 6502

    OriginalClone

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    #8
    The above poster is correct. Try and get a refund and get them to put the old screen back on if they still have it your Touch ID will never work again and apple won'trepaur the device with a 3rd party screen on there.
     
  9. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #9
    and I am not sure if they even do Out of Warranty replacements once a 3rd party (not approved) touches it.
     
  10. sekazi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    #10
    What maybe the issue is the home button connection. I had an issue when repairing one where the button worked but the touch ID did not. I disconnected the front panel and then the home button/touch id connection on the bottom and reattached everything. It has worked perfect since then.
     
  11. cs.oyen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Location:
    Portugal
    #11
    At least in my country (for what I know) when out of warranty Apple does not touch in phones, they do a replacement unit in exchange of some money usually half (~) of the market value of phone.
     
  12. OriginalClone macrumors 6502

    OriginalClone

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    #12
    My brother had the same thing happen to him. He took it to the Apple Store and the Genius was cool. He told him if he gets the original screen back on they would replace the device at out of warranty cost (and didn't note in system that he had it changed by a 3rd party). The repair shop still had his screen and put it back on, in addition to refunding him. They knew that the Touch ID wouldn't work and were dishonest about it.
     
  13. lordofthereef macrumors G5

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #13
    how do you know?
     
  14. JayLenochiniMac macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New Sanfrakota
    #14
    The point is once a third party has modified it, it'd be ineligible for service, meaning they won't give you an out of warranty replacement even if you pay for it.
     
  15. OriginalClone macrumors 6502

    OriginalClone

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    #15
    I that case you would be good to go if you can get the original screen back on. That and you not minding paying the replacement cost.
     
  16. cs.oyen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Location:
    Portugal
    #16
    The button have a particular scratch.
     
  17. OriginalClone macrumors 6502

    OriginalClone

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    #17
    How would they know if they don't open it in his country?
     
  18. JayLenochiniMac macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New Sanfrakota
    #18
    No need to open it if they leave behind telltale signs, like non-OEM screws, etc.
     
  19. sekazi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    #19
    You do not need the original screen. Just the original home button which he has.
     
  20. iEs macrumors regular

    iEs

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Location:
    Safari
    #20
    This also happened to my colleague. He replaced his iPhone 6 screen via 3rd party and his Touch ID no longer worked!

    I never go to a 3rd party when it comes to electronics. It's always better to pay for that extra cash when you know it's official and will get taken care of, even if it they fail on the first attempt.
     
  21. Charadis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    #21
    If you are certain that the original home button is used, which it seems you have proof, the problem is more than likely the cable adhered to the lcd backplate that connects the Home button to the logic board.

    I recently had this problem after repairing my mother's iPhone 6, and it was easily fixed by replacing the cable (in my case, I replaced the entire backplate plus cable - about $7 - $16 here in us depending who you buy from).
     
  22. Sparkymoto macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2014
    #22
    There's lots of videos on this. You need the original touch home button
     
  23. Velin macrumors 65816

    Velin

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    Hearst Castle
    #23
    Had the same thing happen on my iPad Air 2. Dropped it, shattered screen. Went to third-party for screen repair, TouchID no longer works. But I knew this beforehand and was fine with it, as I generally don't use fingerprint on my iPad, and as soon as the smaller iPad Pro 2 is released, I'm replacing the Air 2. So for me, it was worth the lower repair cost.

    Other than TouchID, this third party did a great job on the screen repair, they were able to reshape a very dented aluminum corner so the screen sits flush and properly, I was pretty surprised at how good it looked and how solid the repair was.
     
  24. flappple macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    #24
    This is correct, Apple will not touch phones that have been modified from third-party companies. This is because the technicians cannot know how to handle the parts with care and they want to avoid further damaging your device.

    Home buttons are part of the display, so you have a new button on your phone that it isn't recognizing. Getting these repairs done at an Apple Store or shipped out to Apple for repair are a lot less of a headache.
     
  25. Stereo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    #25
    Well, first of all, the iPhone 6 doesn't even have touch ID!
     

Share This Page