iPhone 6S Came With Carrier Pre-Installed Apps!

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Pathfinder3, Oct 16, 2015.

  1. Pathfinder3 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Location:
    Okinawa, JP
    #1
    Who's 'fortunate' enough to have bloatware on their new iPhone 6S/6S+?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Allin44 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
  3. baileya1c macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #3
    I don't miss SoftBank at all. So happy to back stateside. 5 years of SoftBank was enough for me.
     
  4. vlinkz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    #4
    Wow, two pages as well... That's quite the collection they forced on you.
     
  5. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
  6. Kataran macrumors newbie

    Kataran

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    #6
    That's some heavy bloat ware hopefully you can delete some of it
     
  7. dmx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #7
    There's no way Apple would allow this in the United States. Have they always allowed it elsewhere?
     
  8. LLL1424 macrumors 6502

    LLL1424

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Location:
    Washington, D.C.
    #8
    Exactly. Can you imagine if Apple did allow it? We would have junk from AT&T- Sprint- Verizon or worst, T-Mobile , preloaded with crap we don't need.
     
  9. vlinkz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    #9
    More reason to buy the SIM-free version in that case.
     
  10. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #10
    It's the same here in the UK. That said even Apple itself is guilty of including apps that cannot be deleted if not wanted.
     
  11. Eileen89 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    #11
    True, but here in the US at least there aren't any pre installed carrier Apps like the OP has displayed above.
     
  12. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #12
    Yes. Like I said there aren't any carrier specific apps here in the UK either. That said it's not as bad as Android phone manufacturers using their own UI overlays on their phones which is even worse in my opinion. Though even Apple shouldn't be forcing apps on consumers by installing them with the OS especially when you can't even delete them.
     
  13. Eileen89 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    #13
    Correct. The only way around manufacturers using their own UI overlays and carrier pre installed Apps on Android devices would be the Google Nexus line. Which is becoming more and more like Apple, with Google doing away with removable batteries and added storage. I see this year they are offing their own form of insurance on their devices that is very similar to Apple Care Plus.
     
  14. Floris macrumors 68020

    Floris

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #14
    I think there's a bit of a difference between possibly unauthorized (and against the contract) bloat-ware from third parties, and pre-installed apps by the developer, builder, and seller of the hardware and software (I mean Apple).
     
  15. barkomatic macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Location:
    Manhattan
    #15
    I'm wondering that also.
     
  16. mavis macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #16
    I was forced to use Softbank for years (they were the only ones that sold the iPhone!) but I switched to AU for the 5S and 6, and now docomo for the 6S. The other carriers are VASTLY superior to Softbank in terms of network coverage, speed, traffic shaping (or the apparent lack thereof) and with the 6S Plus, even pricing. Softbank sucks, dude.
     
  17. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #17
    Technically they don't appear to be actual preinstalled apps; the text at the top of each icon says "download" so presumably they're links to the App Store.

    Having said that, when I bought my 4S from Telecom NZ back in 2011, it had a few things such as the "T-World" portal preconfigured.
     
  18. Floris macrumors 68020

    Floris

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #18
    Connecting to itunes and clicking restore to factory default, and then upgrading to latest should wipe this - doesn't it get the source from Apple's servers?
     
  19. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #19
    With my 4S the Telecom icons remained after a restore as they were part of the "carrier settings" bundle.
     
  20. bking10 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2014
    #20
    Luckily in the US we only get Apple's bloatware
     
  21. scottness macrumors 65816

    scottness

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Location:
    Room 101
    #21
    I'm with you. I got stuck on Softbank as well with all their crap. At least we can put it all in a folder and keep in on the back page.
     
  22. jpgr15 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
  23. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #23
    Not really. At the end of the day if neither is wanted and neither can be deleted it's pretty much the same thing for the most part irrespective whether they are official or unofficial.
     
  24. I7guy macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Location:
    What Exit?/Saguaro Country
    #24
    That's the way it is with iOS and that's, that. Personally I use most of the pre installed apps; which means I find them useful.
     
  25. karmatourer macrumors 6502a

    karmatourer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Location:
    In my house
    #25
    I would think being on The Rock would be bad enough,but having bloatware takes the cake.
     

Share This Page