iPhone 7/7 Plus GSM Models DO NOT Support CDMA?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by KPOM, Sep 7, 2016.

  1. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #1
    Read the fine print on the A1778 and A1784
    http://www.apple.com/iphone-7/specs/

    Models A1778 and A1784 do not support CDMA networks, such as those used by Verizon and Sprint

    They said this last year, but were lying. Are they telling the truth this year? Here we go again.

    It could be that Intel is supplying the modems for the AT&T & T-Mobile version, while Qualcomm is doing so for the rest. They all support the same LTE bands, so the Verizon/Sprint model appears to be the "best."
     
  2. CDutch macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #2
    Would seem that the CDMA version is the phone to buy.
     
  3. AppleFan91 macrumors 65816

    AppleFan91

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Location:
    Indy, US
    #3
    I made this thread a few minutes ago but with the constant creation of threads right now, it got buried. I found the below:


    There's this from Phonearena that shows the bands in the US with the bold bands being the carriers main one. So with that, the CDMA model has all those bands listed so should work on all 4 carriers right? This is confusing. The CDMA one doesn't list T-Mobile and AT&T, but it shows it has the bands to support them....
    Screen Shot 2016-09-07 at 3.54.39 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2016-09-07 at 4.00.33 PM.png
    --- Post Merged, Sep 7, 2016 ---
    What I want to know, is if you were to purchase a T-Mobile unlocked iPhone 7/7+ and tossed in a Verizon/Sprint SIM card a few months later, would it work?
     
  4. KPOM thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #4
    If the report is true, then yes, but only on VoLTE. The AT&T 6S works on Verizon (unsupported) with CDMA and LTE. My guess is that the "Verizon" will be this year's "SIM-Free" version when it goes on sale later this year.
     
  5. AppleFan91, Sep 7, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2016

    AppleFan91 macrumors 65816

    AppleFan91

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Location:
    Indy, US
    #5
    Ok, so you think that if I bought an unlocked T-Mobile one from Apple.com on preorder, I could use it on Verizon if I put a SIM Card in it? Calls would only work on VolTE of course, but thats not big deal. I wish they sold all of the carriers phones unlocked/full retail, but every year they want to associate it with an account unless it's t-mobiles

    The wording on the full retail one is interesting between T-Mobile and Verizon

    T-Mobile
    Screen Shot 2016-09-07 at 4.13.54 PM.png
    Verizon
    Screen Shot 2016-09-07 at 4.13.42 PM.png
     
  6. CDutch macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #6
    --- Post Merged, Sep 7, 2016 ---
    Buy the VZ version and you'll be all set.
     
  7. AppleFan91 macrumors 65816

    AppleFan91

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Location:
    Indy, US
    #7
    It'll want to associate it to a Verizon account if it's like all the previous launches before.
     
  8. CDutch macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #8
    No it won't. Just pop your TMO sim in and it'll work just fine. My 6s Plus is a VZ model running on T-Mobile now.
     
  9. AppleFan91 macrumors 65816

    AppleFan91

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Location:
    Indy, US
    #9
    What I mean is every year when trying to preorder an iPhone from Apple.com, it will want you to sign up or log in with a Verizon account in order to buy the verizon version, even if you are buying it full retail. The only way to buy the phone full retail and NOT sign up or log into a carrier account is buy buying the T-Mobile version at full retail.
     
  10. KPOM thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #10
    Yes, but there is always the possibility that the AT&T/T-Mobile iPhone 7 models don't have CDMA modems anymore. Apple is sourcing their modems from Intel and Qualcomm this year.
     
  11. cc999 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #11
    The problem is you cannot buy it without a Verizon account, same as last year. Anyone else have any other
    info?

    CC
     
  12. CDutch macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #12
    Ah I see. I've always bought mine from the local Apple Store "device only". A little hectic but not a huge deal.
     
  13. KPOM thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #13
    Yes, but sometimes new Apple Store clerks don't understand that. Plus, usually with the Apple iPhone Upgrade Program you need to associate it with a wireless account.
     
  14. cc999 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #14
    From Apple site: It seems the Model A1660* Model A1661* (Verizon Model) supports all?

    Cellular and Wireless
    Model A1660*
    Model A1661*

    FDD-LTE (Bands 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 12, 13, 17, 18, 19, 20, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30)
    TD-LTE (Bands 38, 39, 40, 41)
    TD-SCDMA 1900 (F), 2000 (A)
    CDMA EV-DO Rev. A (800, 1900, 2100 MHz)
    UMTS/HSPA+/DC-HSDPA (850, 900, 1700/2100, 1900, 2100 MHz)
    GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz)


    Model A1778*
    Model A1784*
    Models A1778 and A1784 do not support CDMA networks, such as those used by Verizon and Sprint.

    FDD-LTE (Bands 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 12, 13, 17, 18, 19, 20, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30)
    TD-LTE (Bands 38, 39, 40, 41)
    UMTS/HSPA+/DC-HSDPA (850, 900, 1700/2100, 1900, 2100 MHz)
    GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz)

    All models
    802.11a/b/g/n/ac Wi‑Fi with MIMO
    Bluetooth 4.2 wireless technology
    NFC

    CC
     
  15. CDutch macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #15
    Didn't have that issue last year or the year before. We'll see what happens this year I guess.
     
  16. cc999 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #16
    Does anyone know if the Unlocked T-Mobile model will be available on 9/9?
    I don't see it........

    CC
    --- Post Merged, Sep 7, 2016 ---
    Can you order online and ship to your home a Verizon Model even though you are not a Verizon customer with a Verizon phone number? Thats the million dollar question. I think last year there was a trick in the ordering that allowed it but I cant remember what it was?

    CC
     
  17. KPOM thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #17
    Yes. By definition all T-Mobile models bought through Apple are unlocked as they are full price without contract.
     
  18. Hal~9000 macrumors 68000

    Hal~9000

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    #18
    Do you know where you found that on Phonearena? Been looking on the site and has eluded me so far. Would be much appreciated if you have the link to the LTE band comparison article :)
     
  19. CDutch macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #19
    Not sure. Last year I just reserved a phone and picked it up at the store.
     
  20. AppleFan91 macrumors 65816

    AppleFan91

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Location:
    Indy, US
    #20
  21. imlynxy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    #21
    http://www.fool.com/investing/2016/09/07/apple-inc-iphone-7-specs-suggest-intel-corp-modem.aspx

    It says here that CDMA should be Qualcomm modem, while GSM only is Intel. T-mobile launched yesterday MIMO 4x4 256 QAM LTE and it has no support with Intel modem. There were rumors that only Att would have Intel modem.
    Intel modem speed upto 450, while Qualcomm X12 is 600. Today during presentation it was mentioned LTE speed upto 450.

    How can I get VZW model without VZW account?
     
  22. Etm122 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    #22
    In a step backwards from the 6/6s, the AT&T/T-Mobile models, A1778 & A1784, do not have CDMA. While the Verizon CDMA models, A1660 & A1661, have all the same bands plus CDMA. So much for switching. Why can't there just be one. I confirmed in chat with Apple and it can be seen here http://www.apple.com/iphone/LTE/. So guess I'm waiting for the Sim-Free version. If I'm going to pay a grand in full, I want options.
     
  23. bradl macrumors 68040

    bradl

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #23
    IIRC, from the iPhone 5 going forward, the ATT/T-Mobile models never had CDMA. It wasn't until the iPhone 4 came out for Verizon that there was even a CDMA variant.

    Someone definitely correct me if I'm wrong, but the reason for the Verizon model having both CDMA and GSM was because they had to come with the ability of being unlocked per the ruling/agreement they had with the FCC for the particular bands in the spectrum they purchased.

    The ATT models never had CMDA, because they never had CDMA to begin with.

    BL.
     
  24. kevink2 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #24
    The iPhone 6 ATT model had CDMA. I bought it locked for ATT. Earlier this year I unlocked it, and am using it right now on Verizon.

    Looking at the specs, the Verizon model looks to be a proper superset of the ATT one. So I'll be getting that.

    I don't know if the modem in the ATT/T-Mobile model has advantages. There was speculation that Intel might be making the modem in some models, and Qualcom in others. With faster potential interfaces in some models.
     
  25. Channan macrumors 68030

    Channan

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #25
    All iPhones since the iPhone 6, including the iPhone SE, had CDMA and could be used on Verizon or Sprint if unlocked. Looks like this is the first iPhone since the iPhone 5s that can't if you get the AT&T or T-Mobile model.
     

Share This Page