iPhone 7 Signal Problems

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Liam Steven, Sep 16, 2016.

  1. Liam Steven macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    #1
    Are there any UK users on Three with a home signal box?

    New iPhone 7 is intermittently flicking from 5 bars (connected to home signal) to 2 bars (not conneted to home signal).

    Phoned Three and it has been escalated as iPhone 6 is working perfectly.

    Is anybody having a problem with their Three home signal?
     
  2. RobTuck macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    I just started a thread on this same issue, as I couldn't find anything in the search, and then your thread appeared. http://forums.macrumors.com/threads/iphone-7-signal-problems-with-three-uk-home-signal-box.1998416/

    Have you heard back from Three? We're having this exact problem with an iPhone 7 and Three's Home Signal Box. My iPhone 6 isn't having any issues. I havent been able to call Three yet. Im waiting for my 7 Plus to arrive to see if that does the same.

    Its my understanding that there are at least two models of HSB. Ours is a flat black one that looks like a massive smooth pebble, but I think there's a white box-shaped one too. Which do you have?
     
  3. Liam Steven thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    #3
    They tried to call me back before and left a couple of voicemails asking me to phone them back.

    Was on the phone to them last week for ages whilst they tried software updates and remote control etc.

    I have the black hsb.
     
  4. jkozlow3 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    #4
    I have Verizon here in the US and our (2) iPhone 7 phones won't reliably connect to the LTE Network Extender. I assume that's what you mean by "home signal box"?

    I also never had any issue with our iPhone 6S phones connecting to the extender. Always 5 bars. However, the iPhone 7 phones seem to prefer the Verizon cell/macro tower instead and rarely connect to the extender now.
     
  5. RobTuck macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    The 'Home Signal Box' is the name that Three UK gives it. Its a mini short range 'cell tower' that connects to the broadband router.

    I've just received my iPhone 7 Plus, and exactly the same thing is happening, so its not just with the iPhone 7.

    I've managed to record a video of this happening. I'm hoping Three or Apple might be more inclined to investigate if they can see it happening. I'm going to get this logged with both of them.

     
  6. RobTuck macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Spoke to Apple earlier, and they weren't very helpful at all. She just asked me to reset the network settings on my phone, which I'm not happy to do as this isn't a problem with my handset.

    Just got off the phone with Three. We spent about an hour going through various troubleshooting steps, including him recreating my home signal box profile at their end, resetting the box several times, and restarting my phone. He went away for a bit to speak to someone, and when he came back, he acknowledged that this is an issue with the HSB when used with the iPhone 7 that they're now aware of and are actively trying to fix. He's going to call me back on Thursday with an update.
     
  7. Liam Steven thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    #7
    Sounds promising, hope they fix it as the constant 1bar to "No Service" is draining my battery.

    Keep us posted
     
  8. RobTuck macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    The Three rep called me back earlier. He told me that this isn't an issue with the home signal box, but with the phone. Apple are aware and are actively working on a fix. He didn't have an ETA for the fix, but did say that Apple had set a deadline of November 1st.
     
  9. AJTC macrumors newbie

    AJTC

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012
    Location:
    Ireland
    #9
    I contacted Apple about this because I haven't had any service since Monday on my unlocked 7. They told me they think my IMEI is blocked and asked me to ask my carrier. Asked Three about it and they said they can't check the IMEI because I didn't buy the phone from them and it's not in their database. I questioned them on this because I don't believe they can't look it up. Got nowhere.

    So now I've to go back to Apple who wanted email confirmation that the IMEI isn't blocked and tell them Three can't tell me anything. So annoying. I might just return the phone.
     
  10. ABC5S Suspended

    ABC5S

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Location:
    Florida
    #10
    Mention this before. Could it be the antennas? The iPhone 6 and 6S have those two antennas on top and two of the antennas on the bottom where as the 7 has only one of the top and one at the bottom. Just a thought
     
  11. Liam Steven, Oct 18, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2016

    Liam Steven thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    #11
    Post deleted...
     

Share This Page