iPhone stuck on Apple logo; home button doesn't work

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by lambo, Nov 30, 2009.

  1. lambo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Location:
    FL
    #1
    How can I get my iPhone back to normal? I did the data erase, but now the phone only shows the Apple logo, with a frozen circle thing underneath it. iTunes doesn't recognize it. I can't put it into recovery mode either because conveniently the home button has been broken also.
     
  2. Unspoken Demise macrumors 68040

    Unspoken Demise

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    >9,000
    #2
    Is it still under warranty? Hopefully you can get a replacement if all else fails, right?
     
  3. lambo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Location:
    FL
  4. raison macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    #4
    What's wrong with the home button? Is it physically broken or it doesn't respond when you try to go to restore mode?
     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    Wow, thats a tough one.
    If your home button has been broken prior to this then how can you put it into DFU or recovery mode?
    How did you use it before without a home button?
     
  6. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #6
    You can still put it in Recovery mode... wait no, nevermind, that was back in the ol' days.

    Spinning Apple logo = missing file. If you restore you might end up with Error 8, or 9
     
  7. lambo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Location:
    FL
    #7
    The home button is physically internally broken.
     
  8. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #8
    Maybe send it off to one of those online companys that repair iphones to have the button fixed.
    Without the home button functioning I dont think you can do anything with it.
     
  9. kAoTiX macrumors 6502

    kAoTiX

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #9
    If you feel confident enough to fix it yourself it's quite easy. As long as you can pry the glass from the frame you can get to the entire home button flex cable.
    Then you can replace it with one off eBay or similar.

    If it's not the actual home button flex it could be a problem with the dock connector as that's where the home button works from.
    Failing that, find a local repair shop. It shouldn't cost too much to have it repaired.
     
  10. lambo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Location:
    FL
    #10
    I'm able to open it up, and I have a spare home button flex cable; but I can't find a good detailed guide on how to replace it.

    There's some guide on a blog that everyone references, but it sucks.

    I already tried the method of soldering.

    It didn't work.
     
  11. kAoTiX macrumors 6502

    kAoTiX

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #11
    I don't know of any guides that will show you how to do it.
    I also don't understand what you would be soldering. The flex cable simply sits in place and the contacts meet when the phone is closed.

    Basically if you separate the glass/digitizer from the mid frame you can get to the home button and flex cable.
    Once you've done that, pull the rear of the flex cable off (glued on to the frame by the 2 pins)
    You can then put the new cable on, put a bit of glue to hold it on then glue your glass/digitzer back onto the frame and you're done.

    I'd recommend a proper adhesive sticker. they're like dirt cheap off eBay and will allow you to stick the digitizer back down properly without using some other liquid type glue.
     
  12. lambo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Location:
    FL
    #12
    Have you done this before? And could you provide pictures. Thanks.
     
  13. kAoTiX macrumors 6502

    kAoTiX

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #13
    If I get chance later I will take some pics of the parts required to do this. I don't have a spare iPhone to hand to detach the digitizer from the frame but I have separate frames and home buttons.

    Watch this space.
     
  14. lambo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Location:
    FL
  15. ness1210 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    #15
    i also have this problem. i reset my iphone 3g and now when it boots back up it gets stuck on the apple logo with the spinning wheel. i tried everything: DFU mode, recovery mode, letting the battery die. everything. any help would be appreciated.
     
  16. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #16
    How did you do DFU mode, if your home button doesn't work?
     
  17. ness1210 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    #17
    no my home button works perfectly.
     
  18. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #18
    You said you had the same problem. The OP doesn't have a working home button.

    Anyway, try this, if you've tried eveything else (and really did DFU mode, see my sig for exactly how). First open iTunes and connect your USB cord to your computer, but do not plug it into your iPhone. Then press and hold the home button on your phone while connecting the USB cord into your iPhone, while continuing to hold down the home button. Then click restore in iTunes.
     
  19. ness1210 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    #19
    it doesnt show up in itunes =|. and your Einstein quote in your sig is very relevant to my current problem.
     
  20. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #20
    When you say you "reset" your phone, what do you mean? You didn't "erase all content and settings" did you? If you did, you need to restore in DFU mode, which sometimes won't work after the erase. Erase is pretty much what you do when you hand the phone back to Apple for a replacement.
     
  21. ness1210 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    #21
    that is exactly what i did. is there anything that i can do?
     
  22. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #22
    I just told you. You have to get it into DFU mode. Otherwise, you're going to the Apple Store. You might try a different computer and see if you can get it into DFU mode.
     
  23. lambo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Location:
    FL
    #23
    Have you had a chance yet?
     

Share This Page