iPhone Upgrade Program GSM/CDMA Modem

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by jessetrippe, Sep 16, 2016.

  1. jessetrippe, Sep 16, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2016

    jessetrippe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 9, 2015
    #1
    After reading MacRumors' article on the 7/+ GSM and GSM/CDMA modems (specifically the fact that an AT&T/T-Mobile phone will not be accessible on Verizon or Sprint) I got a little worried. I planned on switching carriers once my contract was up. An Apple rep told me that phones being sold through Apple's iPhone Upgrade Program will have modems that support both networks. Can anyone who's received their iPhone 7/+ today through the IUP confirm this?

    http://www.macrumors.com/2016/09/08/att-and-tmobile-iphone-7-models-lack-cdma/
     
  2. bluedukies8 macrumors 6502

    bluedukies8

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Location:
    Iowa
    #2
    I haven't gotten mine yet but if you get the AT&T or T-Mobile version and switch later, you will need to get a deferent phone. Now if you are able to get the Verizon or Sprint version, it WILL work with AT&T or T-Mobile SIM card inserted. It has the needed bands to support it.
     
  3. jessetrippe thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 9, 2015
    #3
    Once you get yours, do you mind checking? Like I said, I read the article, but the Apple Rep insisted the IUP phone feature the dual Qualcomm modem.
     
  4. edlex macrumors 68000

    edlex

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Location:
    Miami
    #4
    How do I check on my Sprint 7+
     
  5. bluedukies8 macrumors 6502

    bluedukies8

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Location:
    Iowa
    #5
    I suppose I can but you can get the information from http://www.apple.com/iphone-7/specs/

    "
    Cellular and Wireless
    Model A1660*
    Model A1661*
    FDD-LTE (Bands 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 12, 13, 17, 18, 19, 20, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30)
    TD-LTE (Bands 38, 39, 40, 41)
    TD-SCDMA 1900 (F), 2000 (A)
    CDMA EV-DO Rev. A (800, 1900, 2100 MHz)
    UMTS/HSPA+/DC-HSDPA (850, 900, 1700/2100, 1900, 2100 MHz)
    GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz)
    Model A1778*
    Model A1784*
    Models A1778 and A1784 do not support CDMA networks, such as those used by Verizon and Sprint.

    FDD-LTE (Bands 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 12, 13, 17, 18, 19, 20, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30)
    TD-LTE (Bands 38, 39, 40, 41)
    UMTS/HSPA+/DC-HSDPA (850, 900, 1700/2100, 1900, 2100 MHz)
    GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz)
    All models
    802.11a/b/g/n/ac Wi‑Fi with MIMO
    Bluetooth 4.2 wireless technology
    NFC"

    Does that give you the info you need/want?
     
  6. spoa94 macrumors 6502a

    spoa94

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA
    #6
    I am going to pick up my Upgrade Program ATT phone later. I'll let you know if it has CDMA on it.
     
  7. jessetrippe thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 9, 2015
    #7
    Great! Thank you!
    --- Post Merged, Sep 16, 2016 ---
    Not entirely sure. Did they remove the model number from the back of the phone? Maybe it's on the box? If you can find the model number you tell if it's CDMA/GSM or GSM.

    iPhone 7:
    A1660, A1778 (GSM Only)

    iPhone 7 Plus:
    A1661, A1784 (GSM Only)
     
  8. edlex macrumors 68000

    edlex

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Location:
    Miami
    #8

    The back of the box says "Supports: CDMA, GSM, UMTS, TD-SCDMA, and LTE (FDD and TD)
     
  9. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #9
    I think the iUP stock is the same as the regular stock. The carrier SKUs have carrier SIMs in them already. Once Apple starts selling the SIM-free version, that will support CDMA.
    --- Post Merged, Sep 16, 2016 ---
    Which makes sense since Sprint's 3G fallback network is CDMA.
     
  10. captrlp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    #10
     
  11. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #11
    I think they are just unlocked, not SIM free. If you get the ATT or T-Mobile phone they are going to be GSM only. At least that is what I think.
     
  12. captrlp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    #12
    I received my IUP iPhone 7+ this morning. It does not support GSM and CDMA. According to Apple and the MR article, and as mentioned, the modems are dual sourced and the phone will contain one or the other.
    Apple is offering four models of the iPhone 7. Model 1661 is the only one that has multi-network support.
    Standby for ModemGate! As we all know, an unlocked, multi-network capable iPhone was one of the major selling points of the IUP. I'm guessing it will be a few hours before the next class action is filed;)
     
  13. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #13
    IIRC, you are right. Last year it was advertised as a phone that was unlocked and would work on any carrier
     
  14. captrlp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    #14
    Here is the updated information from Apple....which was conveniently changed without proper notification to program subscribers:

    When I buy with the iPhone Upgrade Program, is my iPhone “unlocked”?
    Yes. You can select a new wireless carrier or stick with the one you have. We’ll activate your iPhone on your choice of AT&T, Sprint, T-Mobile, or Verizon. Once your new iPhone is activated, it remains unlocked.

    Are there differences between an iPhone for AT&T or T-Mobile and an iPhone for Sprint or Verizon Wireless?
    iPhone offers the same innovative features regardless of the wireless carrier you choose. If you choose AT&T or T-Mobile as your wireless carrier, your iPhone will use 3G cellular technology for voice services and either 3G or 4G LTE cellular technology for data services. iPhone can roam internationally on many GSM carriers around the world. If you buy iPhone with AT&T or T-Mobile, it will not work on Sprint or Verizon Wireless.

    If you choose Sprint or Verizon Wireless as your wireless carrier, your iPhone will use CDMA cellular technology for voice and data services. If you buy an unlocked iPhone with Verizon or Sprint, it will work on AT&T or T-Mobile. An iPhone activated on Sprint or Verizon Wireless also has the ability to roam internationally on GSM networks. For details on LTE network support, please see www.apple.com/iphone/LTE.
     
  15. bufffilm Suspended

    bufffilm

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #15
    Untrue.
     
  16. patrickbarnes macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    #16
    A GSM only phone can actually be used on Verizon if it supports VoLTE.

    No one is going to advertise this because if you're not in LTE range the phone is effectively a brick and can't make emergency calls on the Verizon network.
     
  17. Lobwedgephil macrumors 68040

    Lobwedgephil

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    #17
    I have one, At&t Model A1784.

    Mine leaves out CDMA.
     
  18. bufffilm Suspended

    bufffilm

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #18
    A1784 can't be used on Verizon and sprint since it lacks the radios.
     
  19. Lobwedgephil macrumors 68040

    Lobwedgephil

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    #19
    Yep, thats what the box implies. Not an issue for me.
     
  20. bufffilm Suspended

    bufffilm

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #20
    Ok.

    (Just pointing out in case you didn't know.)
     
  21. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #21
    I think he was more so confirming they are not SIM free like last year.
     
  22. Mkuzmenko macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    #22

    This is the biggest failure of this program. I have T-Mobile and reserved both a Verizon and T-Mobile 7 for pick up today. The Verizon was matte black and the T-Mobile was gold (only options available to choose from). I requested the black one Verizon to use with T-Mobile, since I read that the T-Mobile and Att were GSM. Since I am not a current Verizon customer, I was not able to get a fully unlocked phone that would work on both T-Mobile and Verizon.

    This is the biggest let down ever. In order to get a truly unlocked phone, I had to sign up for a Verizon account, have the phone first activated with a Verizon sim, and then swap my T-Mobile sim in. Even talking with the Manager and showing him the website that shows "unlocked iPhone", did nothing to get around having to sign up for Verizon to get a phone that wasn't limited to certain networks.

    I am beyond disappointed in apple and will be writing to complain. There was no other way to find this out other than going to the store and attempting to get a Verizon phone without a Verizon account.
     
  23. patrickbarnes macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    #23
    In theory, yes. In practice, you can if you like having no fallback 3G network.
     
  24. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #24
    Unlocked doesn't mean SIM free. It just means it is not locked to a single carrier.

    It is crap though. Last year they were SIM free.
     
  25. spoa94 macrumors 6502a

    spoa94

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA
    #25
    I can confirm that the ATT iPhone 7+ I received using the iPhone Upgrade Program is model A1784 so it IS NOT compatible with Sprint or Verizon.
     

Share This Page