iPhone WiFi question

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by paulold, Mar 17, 2008.

1. paulold macrumors 6502

I have a new iPhone and I'm at work with it for the first time. My iPhone found a wireless network, that appears to be work-related, though I thought my company was anti-wifi for security reasons. Since it was not password-protected, I tried to use it. Though the signal strength appears to be strong, nothing is working for me. Since I am new to using wifi networks (other than my own at home), is this normal? When you are not at home, are you just trying to get onto any random wifi signal and some work, some don't?

Another related question... I noticed that the iPhone refused to do anything, like check the weather or go to cnn.com on safari, when I was trying to use this WiFi network at work. I guess the phone was fooled by the strength of the signal, but nothing was working. Why did the iPhone just quit trying altogether instead of switching over to my cell phone network, which appears to be at full strength? I had to go into the settings and turn off the wifi in order to get it to use the cell phone network. And on the cell phone network, it's back to working. Doesn't it know the wifi network wasn't doing the job?

2. McGiord, Mar 17, 2008
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2011

McGiord macrumors 601

McGiord

If you are not authorized to use it, better don't use it, you will get in trouble.

What I had experience in hotels and public places is that sometimes you need to login and acknowledge the terms of service, even they are free wifi signals, by accessing their website in Safari, sometimes when you launch Safari you will get to that website directly, and sometimes it doesn't, so you need to find out what is the url.

Also some people are wired to the net, and have their computers wifi sharing enabled and you capture their signals.
    ________
    sc2 replays

3. jav6454 macrumors P6

jav6454