iPhone without contract

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by DJ24966, May 27, 2011.

  1. DJ24966 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    #1
    My friend has an old iPhone that he's looking to get rid of, and I'm thinking of taking it off his hands.

    If I buy the phone and take it to ATT can they still force me into a 2 yr contract since I already own my phone?

    Thanks
     
  2. iFiend, May 27, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: May 29, 2011

    iFiend macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #2
    Absolutely not.

    Tell them you got the phone as a hand-me-down gift and you'd like to start service. Drive home that you do not want to sign a contract. They'll happily set you up. Just make sure before you sign anything check and make sure it is not a contract!!
     
  3. DJ24966 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    #3
    That's what I was hoping to hear :p

    Now just for the heck of it, lets say I wanted to do pre-paid gophone style.

    I'd need to do what exactly?

    Just buy a gophone, get the sim card unlocked and transfer them?
     
  4. Supraking macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    #4
    They will if you sign up for the contract. But you can use the prepaid Pay As You Go plans they have.
     
  5. iFiend macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #5
    You cannot use gophone SIMs/contracts with the iPhone. It may work for a while but AT&T will figure it out and add data service to your account.

    What kind of phone is it?
     
  6. DJ24966, May 27, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: May 29, 2011

    DJ24966 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    #6
    It's just the regular 3g I believe.

    So, basically I can get on a monthly $75/month plan like everybody else, just without the 2 year agreement, correct?

    Also, I talked to 1 other person who said ATT generally does not care if you use a gophone sim card just as long as you are not doing data, any truth to that?
     
  7. wordoflife, May 28, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: May 29, 2011

    wordoflife macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #7
    That is correct.

    I don't know how Gophone plans work, but I assume that if you use data, it will just charge you by the MB. iPhones use a lot of data so it can get expensive if you don't have a proper data plan. I don't think gophone plans were designed to be used with smartphones, hence why they charge quite a bit for data since those gophones don't use much data at all.
     
  8. nostresshere, May 29, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: May 29, 2011

    nostresshere macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    #8
    As to GOPHONE - why go this route on an iphone, even if you get it with no data functions? Buy at Gophone at walmart for $30. No contract.
     
  9. Internal Fury macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
  10. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #10
    That is false.
    You can use Gophone prepaid AT&T sims with any iphone.
    They will not add data, its prepaid.
    All you do is go to the AT&T store and have them give you just the sim and tell them you have a cellphone at home that you're going to use. They wont even care if you use an iphone anyway.
     
  11. nipponfan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Location:
    Austria
    #11
    I had a soft-unlocked 3GS from Austria and couldn't use a go-phone sim in it. At the att store they told me it wouldn't work bc it's an iPhone
     
  12. The Californian macrumors 68040

    The Californian

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Location:
    Surfers Paradise
    #12
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Did you actually check, or did you take their work for it?
     

Share This Page