iPhone X Users - How many bars of service do you have?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by mjr1000, Nov 3, 2017.

  1. mjr1000 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2017
    #1
    What provider are you using? (AT&T, T-Mobile, Verizon, Sprint)

    What model do you have? (A1901/Intel/GSM or A1865/Qualcomm/GSM&CDMA)

    Where do you live? (Urban or Rural)

    Does anyone think they are having signal issues compared to your previous iPhone? What model are you upgrading from?
     
  2. deadworlds macrumors 65816

    deadworlds

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Location:
    Citrus Heights,CA
    #2
    I get 1-3 bars of signal depending where im at in the house. Same as with my 7+.

    T-Mobile, urban area with trees surrounding the house (probably why reception fluctuates).
     
  3. Cergman macrumors 6502a

    Cergman

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Location:
    my tesla
    #3
    Same signal on my Intel X as I received on my Qualcomm iPhone 7+ on AT&T. Full bars and 120 mbps over LTE where I live.
     
  4. mjr1000 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2017
    #4
    Damn. That’s great. My Qualcomm X just pulled down 30 mbps. 2 bars. Smh. But my wife’s Intel 8+ just did the same. ****** AT&T coverage I suppose.
     
  5. Damstr macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
  6. Packers1958 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Location:
    South Dakota
  7. mjr1000 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2017
    #7
    WTF is wrong with my setup? Is it just horrible AT&T service?
     
  8. Packers1958 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Location:
    South Dakota
    #8
    Prior to about 6 months ago, my Verizon speeds could barely hit 25Mbps with LTE. Verizon updated the tower, and the speeds really went up. Now to be honest, I ran the test at 125 am, when there is very little traffic on the tower. During the day it closer to 60 Mbps DL speeds.
     
  9. mattcube64 macrumors 65816

    mattcube64

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Location:
    Missouri
    #9
    Definitely seem to be getting worse signal on my X than my 7 Plus on AT&T.

    From time to time, I’ll get full bars. But while I typically hover around 2-3, I’ve been stuck at one bar quite a bit today. 1 bar at my house. 1 at my friend’s. And 1 to 2 at my desk at work, where I always have 3+.

    I’ve done a reset and am using the same SIM. That said, actual quality of signal seems fine (stuff loads quickly); but I’m afraid for my battery life.
     
  10. mjr1000 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2017
    #10
    Do you have the Intel model or the Qualcomm?
     
  11. andyblila macrumors 65816

    andyblila

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    On My iPhone, or my iPad?
    #12
    How do I tell which modem I have?
    --- Post Merged, Nov 4, 2017 ---
    Nevermind. I have the Intel model. I ordered an unlocked phone so I should not have gotten the Intel model, but oh well. I am not seeing any noticeable signal loss.
     
  12. w4rmk macrumors regular

    w4rmk

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    #13
    Verizon customer in Golden, Colorado. Was getting 1-2 bars at home with iPhone 7 (and pretty much every previous iPhone model). Displayed signal strength with the A1865 iPhone X is pretty close to the same, maybe slightly better at hanging onto 2 bars than the iPhone 7.
     
  13. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #14
    1-2 bars at home. I can still manage 25mbps down and 5 up.
    Verizon.
     
  14. mattcube64 macrumors 65816

    mattcube64

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Location:
    Missouri
    #15
    Best Buy, so should be Universal meaning Qualcomm.
     
  15. jacklivehere macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2014
    Location:
    Utopia
    #16
    On T-Mobile

    iPhone 8 Intel - 3 bars
    iPhone X Qualcomm - 2 bars
    Home - urban
     
  16. amyangel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    #17
    it's the same in my house both my old 7+ and current X. I have weak service from both tmobile and (use to be at&t) in my location so i just turn on wifi calling and it's no problem at home.
     
  17. CjonesHouston macrumors 65816

    CjonesHouston

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    Location:
    Texas
    #18
    A57BCC16-925D-4BB6-907D-FF45626A610C.png
    It depends on what plan you have. I believe on the unlimited AT&T plans they have been offering are throttled. They are capped at certain speeds. My brother is on the new unlimited plan. I’m on a older data share plan. My speeds vary from 50 to 100 mbps in Houston. Some parts are higher then a 100 mbps. In my house today I’m getting 79 mbps.
     

Share This Page

17 November 3, 2017