iPhone4 with OS 4.1 retains 1.59.00 baseband

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by imaginex20, Sep 2, 2010.

  1. imaginex20 macrumors 65816

    imaginex20

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    #1
    Anyone update to iOS 4.1 on their iPhone 4? I have and it still retains the 1.59.00 baseband. This seems odd to me since Apple usually updates the baseband during the OS updates.
     
  2. ryanmcv macrumors 6502a

    ryanmcv

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #2
    Then you downloaded the wrong file or did not install the update properly. After installing 4.1 GM, my baseband version is 02.10.04.
     
  3. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #3
    That sucks but didnt think Apple wouldnt close the unlock expoit.
     
  4. AHDuke99 macrumors 68020

    AHDuke99

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    #4
    My baseband isn't updated either. I wonder why?
     
  5. Jumpman2033 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    #5
    Mine also updated to 02.10.04.
     
  6. Cynikal.Mindset macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Location:
    Guelph ON, Canada
    #6
    oh well...fully unlocked right here...update basebands all you like!!! :D
     
  7. eddiec312 macrumors 6502

    eddiec312

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Location:
    Miami, FL
  8. imaginex20 thread starter macrumors 65816

    imaginex20

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    #8
    Ahhh, I figured out why my baseband didn't get updated. My host file was edited to point to Saurik's server. Almost 3/4 through the restore process the phone would then show the plug into itunes image and itunes would give error 1004. I googled it and found that RecBoot can kick the phone out of recovery mode since the OS has already been sucessfully updated to the device. My phone on iOS 4.1 and baseband 1.59.00 worked fine.

    So, I edited my host file to remove the address to Saurik's server and no longer got an error during the restore process and now my basebank is 2.14.02.

    So, this could potentially mean that people who want to keep the baseband at 1.59.00 can point their host file to saurik's server and update to iOS 4.1 right now. Good for those who need unlocking in the future.
     
  9. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #9
    That wouldn't have anything to do with updating or maintaining the baseband.
     
  10. dstedman macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    #10
    Mine is 02.10.04 as well. What does this mean & is there really a 02.14.02?
     
  11. gage006 macrumors regular

    gage006

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #11
    2.10.04 is the new baseband. My iPhone 4 with 4.1 has it. It's real.
     
  12. goobot macrumors 603

    goobot

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    long island NY
    #12
    he got an error before it got to update the baseband but the phone was updated to 4.1 he used something to get out of recovery mode. so he has old bb. and he got the error cause he was on Saurik's server so it didnt have the 4.1 shsh.
     
  13. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #13
    Interesting.
    So why did it error out before it updated the baseband?
    And does that method would work like a pwnage type of update to maintain an unlockable baseband? Very weird...
     
  14. mackmgg macrumors 65816

    mackmgg

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #14
    There is 05.14.02 on the 3G and 3GS
     
  15. goobot macrumors 603

    goobot

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    long island NY
    #15
    cause Saurik's server doesnt have 4.1 shsh blobs yet so im guessing that may have caused it. maybe something else. and i think pwnage tool just removes the new baseband from the ipsw and just puts in an older one.
     
  16. torakaru macrumors member

    torakaru

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #16
    Hi Folks,

    Anyone with an old iPhone 3G has tested the new iOS 4.1GM to see if the lag and slowness problems have gone? :confused:

    Thanks!!! ;)
     
  17. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #17
    Very weird, Im waiting to hear official word from the Dev Team on this.
    It didnt do it before with other GM or beta IPSW's.
    And is that done only on the iphone 4 or also on the 3G and 3GS?
     
  18. goobot macrumors 603

    goobot

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    long island NY
    #18
    well for all devices the last thing it does is activate/update the baseband when updating/restoring. and again im not sure what may have caused ops error. he said it was the shsh so i guess that could be possible.
     
  19. iMacDragon macrumors 65816

    iMacDragon

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #19
    From my experimentation with firmware umbrella, sauriks server does not seem to store the blobs for the baseband on iphone 4, so this would cause the rror described i'm sure.
     
  20. applefanDrew macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #20
    Has anyone noticed improved reception with the new baseband? I've been getting more bars in some places. I can't figure out if it is ATT upping the power, or if the phone is interacting with the network better.
     
  21. imaginex20 thread starter macrumors 65816

    imaginex20

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    #22
    Hi guys...sorry about the confusion...my new is 2.10.04 previously I stated 2.10.02.

    Yes I am on an iPhone4 and I tried updating my phone many times with the host file pointed to Saurik's server with the same error 1004 with baseband 1.59.00. After modifying the host file it updated to 2.10.04 successfully. I am posting this so that those who do need unlock on ios4 can do this workaround once a jailbreak comes out for os4.1. If the dev team releases pwnage tool then it will ultimately result in the same thing.
     
  22. heartsleeve macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Location:
    So. Delaware - near the ocean
    #23
    Is iOS4.1 available or not in US?

    I keep getting the msg thru iTunes that 4.0.2 is the latest update for iPhone 4. How did you guys get it?
    :confused:
     
  23. iMacDragon macrumors 65816

    iMacDragon

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #24
    By manually acquiring the ipsw either from developer account or elsewhere, everyone gets it next week through itunes.
     
  24. xxjozmanzol79xx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    #25
    error 1004 fix

    if you guys remove the Cydia server from iTunes hosts on notepad, iTunes will do the complete update and you will have the new baseband and u will not get error 1004
     

Share This Page