iPod Touch 5th Gen: App Crash

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Payton@CPR, Feb 13, 2017.

  1. Payton@CPR macrumors newbie

    Payton@CPR

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    #1
    So a little backstory:
    A customer came in wondering why their apps were either running slow or not at all, even after they reset their device. After checking it myself I noted that the applications that ran without issue were ones that required no internet whatsoever. Youtube, for instance, crashed both in safari and in app. I've searched for quite a while and most forums I've browsed have stated that it's 9.3.5. Obviously there's no signed previous versions, and I'm new on the idea of jailbreaking a device (especially 9.3.5) in order to roll it back. I've reset the device myself using iTunes, but to no avail.

    Any help provided with people who have perhaps had the same issues would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. cruisin macrumors 6502a

    cruisin

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    Are you setting it as a new device or restoring the old backup?

    Jailbreaking a device will not roll back the firmware. If you don't have a backup of the signing blobs, then you can only use the current firmware.
     
  3. Payton@CPR thread starter macrumors newbie

    Payton@CPR

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    #3
    I'm setting it as a new device. I'm willing to doubt that the device (it's out of my hands at this point) has any backup from any earlier versions. I'll keep that in mind moving forward, however.
     
  4. cruisin macrumors 6502a

    cruisin

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    The WiFi might be broken. Do you even get a IP number assigned? And can you ping it? Do the apps crash if you turn off WiFi?

    All Macs with builtin WiFi have strange issues if you remove the WiFi (maybe because it expects it to exist). So my guess is the iPod has broken WiFi, so anything that touches WiFi will have issues.
     
  5. Payton@CPR thread starter macrumors newbie

    Payton@CPR

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    #5
    It does get an IP assigned. I can't ping with the device unless I went into the app store to get an app that pings, but it's a customer's phone and whilst I could get the password for the apple account, I tend to avoid that. Disconnecting the internet to access applications that require internet is a tad counterproductive. I'm willing to bet this iPod was one of the odd balls that came in that had a deeper issue than what we could fix.
     
  6. cruisin macrumors 6502a

    cruisin

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    Do you have access to a computer? It has ping built in. But if you get an address that begins with 169 it means that the iPod cannot connect and uses a default address.
     

Share This Page