Ipod Touch dead after WinPwn

Discussion in 'iPod touch Hacks' started by GeckoSlayer, May 10, 2008.

  1. GeckoSlayer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    #1
    Soo, my ipod touch started not recognizing screen touches in applications, I was told by some guy in an IRC channel to install winpwn and pwn the ipod and see if that helps.

    So I installed winpwn, turn it on, it chucked my device into DFU perfectly fine and it came back on churning around for a bit with white text on the screen. Then, well, then it stopped working.

    Here is the last few lines from teh winpwn log:

    "5/10/2008 4:48:09 PM - Sending ramdisk to iPhone.
    5/10/2008 4:48:10 PM - Transfer took 1703.125ms
    5/10/2008 4:48:10 PM - Modifying environment...
    5/10/2008 4:48:11 PM - Starting pwnage
    5/10/2008 4:48:19 PM - iPhone left recovery mode"

    Now, when I go to get it into recovery mode, I get no apple logo. It is just a black screen, there is no itunes recognizing it, nothing.

    I've tried the whole power + home and every combination imaginable. Noo dice. This serves as a bit of warning to not use beta software on a brand new $630 gadget! Anyway, I hope you guys can help.

    Here's hoping I haven't just wasted $630,
    Dylan
     
  2. GeckoSlayer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    #2
    Alright guys, after reading around, I heard about this 10 second thing. I tried that, no deal with DFU.

    Opened up the ipod, installed in a quick 555 timer to electronically 'hold down' the power and home buttons for 10 seconds and then release power while keeping home held down. This doesn't work, but increasing it to 11 seconds triggered DFU and I'm up and running again.

    It's all good to close this thread now.
     
  3. PMB macrumors 65816

    PMB

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New York
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/420.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.0 Mobile/4A93 Safari/419.3)

    wait, you mean you physicaly opened it up?
     
  4. GeckoSlayer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    #4


    Yeah mate, I figured it was buggered anyway, opening it up wouldn't have changed anything.
     
  5. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #5
    But what's the difference between holding the buttons down for 11 seconds instead of 10 with your hand, and 11 seconds instead of 10 with a timer?
     
  6. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #6
    Curious as to the answer to this question as well.

    I don't understand why the OP opened his Touch and jacked in a 555 timer.
     
  7. GeckoSlayer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    #7
    Home button hadn't worked since day 1, I could have just shorted it using the tip of a screwdriver, but that wouldn't have been much fun would it? :p


    Really, it was just a case of not knowing how DFU worked, and I wanted to be around the computer to be able to check what changes on the USB side of things when entering DFU. Again, I could have easily shorted it, but that would have been two hands taken up - and would have had to hold down the screwdriver (and afaik, I only have two hands!)
     
  8. Drucifer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    #8

    Um, if I just paid $600+ like you did and the Home Button wasn't working simple logic would say to take it back for a non defective iPod. Once you open it up thought I believe it automatically voids your warrantly.
     
  9. donaldj macrumors 6502

    donaldj

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #9
    So does jailbreaking/pwning... so hes not losing anything.
     
  10. PMB macrumors 65816

    PMB

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New York
    #10
    wow. you have cojones! i would just try and have apple fix it for me at that point!
     
  11. andybno1 macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #11
    the correct way should be to have the ipod hucked up to pc/mac via USB first, if the ipod is off I think plugging it into the pc/mac would turn it on. (humour me with this I know you say you have tried it) If thats the case hold the home and sleep buttons down, ipod goes off eventually, keep held down till you see apple logo and then just hold the home button down when the apple logo appears and keep holding it down till you get the recovery icon on the touch.............. in theory this should work lol

    hope this has helped
     
  12. Arisian macrumors 68000

    Arisian

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Location:
    China
  13. GeckoSlayer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    #13
    Oh believe me, I tried everything. When I say the ipod was off, I mean it was OFF.

    And, when turning it on, I tested the data pins and it showed power. This means that even though the screen was blank (and, may I add, the lighting was also off) it was still doing SOMETHING in the background. This was my first kind of premise to tell that it was not completely bricked.

    See, when running winpwn, it stopped midway through for some inane reason. After waiting a while, I disconnected the ipod. Apparently winpwn had removed the firmware and not bothered to put anything back in place. So, there was NOTHING for the bootloader to run. The bootloader wasn't even functioning correctly (even though, yes, it is located as ROM). The DFU however was functioning marvelously.

    As a hint to people with the same issue:
    You don't NEED to open your ipod up. I just like doing things 'the hard way' some would say. All you need to do, plug it into your computer. Hold both power + home in for 10 seconds, after 10 seconds have passed, remove your hold from the power button but keep the home button firmly pressed in until your computer starts installing drivers for a DFU device.
     
  14. andybno1 macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #14
    I never get this 10 second rule, I tend to just hold the buttons down till it powers off and on again then when apple logo appears just let go of the sleep button
     
  15. PMB macrumors 65816

    PMB

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New York
    #15
    Me too, and the have to have it plugged into a computer. i just do it untill i get the cord + itunes logo
     
  16. GeckoSlayer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    #16

    Ah, but there was no way of getting the itunes logo up. With WinPwn, it removed the firmware, which contains these screens and all the information needed to put it into restore mode. Which is why you have to go into DFU to use hardware restore mode.
     
  17. paga macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    #17
    OMFG Thank You !! It works!!! I love you man!XD Ty very much!<3
     
  18. molenboy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    #18
    Thank you soooo much. I thought i had bricked my iPod Touch until i read this post, your a life saver xD ty sooo sooo much. :p
     
  19. Grentz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    #19
    So your home button is broke, your screen is acting weird, and then you decide to jailbreak?

    Why did you not just send it in and get it repaired by Apple? It had to still be under warranty if it was a 32gb.
     
  20. PMB macrumors 65816

    PMB

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New York
    #20
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/420.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.0 Mobile/4A102 Safari/419.3)

    all iPod touches are still under warranty, it is a 1yr warranty.
    OP: actually I believe pwnagetool does not remove any data, but rather changes logos
     
  21. matt27 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #21
    I did that but then my ipod appears on itunes as iphone and when i click on restore button, it downloaded and then it kept saying " preparing iphone for restore" for 2 or 3 mins then it say can not restore error occurs!! what should i do??
     
  22. itzdemo macrumors regular

    itzdemo

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Austin Texas
    #22
    what firmware you restoring ?

    2.0 needs iTunes 7.7
    1.1.4 needs iTunes 7.5

    If you have the right iTunes and the firmware you have is bad you can google a new download on many sites. To use a downloaded firmware just hold down the ctrl button when you click the restore button.

    Hope this helps ! It did for me.

    If that don't work try uninstalling iTunes and redownloading the one you need.
     
  23. matt27 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #23
    I really appreciate your help, but it still did not work! The error 1604 still occurred ... I think Itunes is not the problem, but my ipod ... It doesnt show anything on the screen no matter what i do to it ... it stays blank all the time even when the itunes is restoring it. The screen only pops up white background for 2 secs when the PC recognizes it then it goes back to blank!

    If you know any other ways to fix it let me know, i really need help!
     
  24. arslankhn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    #24
    Life Saver

    ------------------------------
    :D:):):):):):)):):):):):):):):):):):):D
    Man i cannot thank you enough. I thought I had totally bricked my ipod touch. it was only 2 days old -and i had been trying for the last 4 hours to fix it - tried everything in the book. I had bricked it using Winpwn 2.0 and was going nuts! But could never have guess the technique you explained, the 11 second thing worked like a charm!! Simply cannot thank you enough!!!!! I can breathe again!! Cheers!!! If I could, I would have bought you a round of drinks!!!!!:)
     
  25. arslankhn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    #25
    -------------------------------------------------------

    I had this problem - the only way to fix it is use Itunes 7.5, and put the iphone/ipod touch in dfu mode. Simply hold the home button and then the power button while connected, then after 10 secs release power button, keep holding home, and itunes should pop up reconising it in recovery mode. Alternatively you can use Ziphone to put it in DFU mode.
     

Share This Page