Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Koreos

macrumors member
Original poster
Mar 4, 2008
I was wondering, for the users out there with the iPod touch... is it worthwhile to get one for college?

I don't think I'll buy an iPhone because the plans are too expensive for my student budget, and with the Back to School promotion I'll probably have a free nano or $150 off an iPod touch.

So, is the iPod Touch a good tool for school? Things I would use it for:
- Music (of course!)
- RSS reader
- iCal syncronization with MacBook
- FlashCard app (something like this)
- Quiz app
- Dictionary/translator

eXan

macrumors 601
Jan 10, 2005
Russia
i dont think so as i treat mine just as an ipod

I also use mine just as iPod, + occasionally Calculator. I don't have the January Apps on it either - just no need for them...

But I'm no expert in Jailbreaking scene, so someone else could help you...

zainjetha

macrumors 6502a
Aug 11, 2007
with SDK coming soon i would wait a month or two and you can get it installed and other cool applications bundled in. iPod touch would be great for a student but just get an iPhone and jailbreak and have your phone built in - its a perfect phone without a warranty...

Koreos

macrumors member
Original poster
Mar 4, 2008
with SDK coming soon i would wait a month or two and you can get it installed and other cool applications bundled in. iPod touch would be great for a student but just get an iPhone and jailbreak and have your phone built in - its a perfect phone without a warranty...

I would do that, but the iPhone plan is too expensive for me...

.Andy

macrumors 68030
Jul 18, 2004
The Mergui Archipelago