Is A Mac Pro Worthwhile For A Student?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by NickD, Jul 21, 2007.

1. NickD macrumors 6502a

NickD

I've been looking at purchasing a mac pro for quite a while now, but have always been slightly frightened of the price tag, so I wanted to bring the question to you guys.

I'm a student in high school, and have been running and independent media creation studio for a couple years now. I photograph and film events for people, as well as editing other people's images and video, compiling DVD's, slideshows, etc., and doing other small media jobs (converting VHS to DVD and such).

I've quickly outgrown the processing power and maximum RAM specs on my 20" Core Duo iMac, and have been looking for a new machine. Of course, the Mac Pro came immediately to mind. The upgradability and processing power is perfect for the work I do in Photoshop and Final Cut, but the price may be a little high.

I do realize that this computer may last me many years, but I need to know whether it would be worth it to purchase a Mac Pro in my scenario.

What do you all think?

NickD

2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

Eidorian

You'll more then likely make up for the price in work done on it.

I repaid my iMac significantly by doing audio/visual work with it.

3. hayduke macrumors 65816

hayduke