Is AirPlay working on Mac Pro 4,1-5,1?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by pastrychef, Oct 7, 2015.

  1. pastrychef, Oct 7, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2015

    pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #1
    I am able to use AirPlay to stream music and videos from iTunes to my Raspberry Pi. However, it doesn't work from anywhere else. All I get is:

    Screen Shot 2015-10-07 at 5.19.30 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2015-10-07 at 5.20.47 AM.png

    Is this due to the fact that I'm not using an AppleTV or is it a limitation of our Mac Pros or is it an El Capitan issue?

    Thanks in advance.

    Again, AirPlay works fine with iTunes:

    Screen Shot 2015-10-07 at 5.33.33 AM.png
     
  2. jimj740 macrumors regular

    jimj740

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Location:
    Pining for the company that once gave us Clarus
    #2
    Not sure if I understand your question correctly...

    If you are asking if the cMP supports the AirPlay functionality to mirror display from the finder, the answer to that is no.

    -JimJ
     
  3. pastrychef thread starter macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #3
    I want to know why AirPlay works in iTunes but not for QuickTime or for YouTube in Safari.
     
  4. Inutopia macrumors 6502

    Inutopia

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Location:
    South of Heaven
    #4
    I think because that's not Airplay mirroring, just iTunes stuff. Airplay mirroring is unsupported on the Mac Pro before 6,1 due to the CPUs lacking Quicksync.
     
  5. pastrychef thread starter macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #5
    I'm not trying to do AirPlay mirroring. I'm just trying to AirPlay from QuickTime and Safari.

    For example, if I open an MP3 file with QuickTime, I only get "Looking for devices..."
     
  6. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
  7. Inutopia macrumors 6502

    Inutopia

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Location:
    South of Heaven
    #7
    I don't have airplay buttons in either of those apps that I can see?

    EDIT: I see it's a new feature in El Cap, that'll be why I don't see it!
     
  8. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #8
    Hold Option and hit the speaker icon and choose your airplay device.

    Airplay always works (Audio) except for video on cMPs.
     
  9. pastrychef thread starter macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #9
    That's changing the audio output of my Mac to AirPlay. That's not what I'm trying to do.

    When I play music in iTunes, I can choose to have the songs played through AirPlay directly from iTunes. All other sounds continue to use my regular audio output device.

    So, songs can be heard from the speakers connected via AirPlay and Mac system sounds etc will continue to play through my computer's speakers.

    In QuickTime and when watching videos from within Safari, there's an option to play through AirPlay, however, (at least for me) it only stays at "Looking for device..." and never actually finds a device. Meanwhile, iTunes finds the AirPlay perfectly fine.
     
  10. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
  11. pastrychef thread starter macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #11
    I have never tried AirParrot. I was hoping that these features would work natively in OS X.
     
  12. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #12
    PastryChef,

    I am still on Yosemite for my 2010MP, so I'll check out the applications you used this weekend and get back to you.

    However, all of my AirPlay destinations are licensed, so I cannot replicate your exact example (if I understand correctly, Raspberry Pi uses open source code that mimicks an older AirPlay implementation).

    The Raspberry Pi also cannot handle DRM'd content, so I just want to ask if you were trying the exact same media file in Quicktime as you were in iTunes. With the Pi as a destination, a DRM-free file should work for both applications, and a DRM'd file should work for neither application.
     
  13. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #13
    AirpPlay video is only supported on CPUs that have QuickSync by Intel. 2012 MBP and above and 2013 Mac Pro.
     
  14. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #14
    AFAIK, there is no QuickSync in the nMP's CPU. So, that should not be a hard requirement.
     
  15. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #15
    There is QuickSync. It's a Sandy Bridge Xeon.
     
  16. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #16
    That's interesting. Intel says no, and AFAIK, QuickSync is a function in the iGPU which the Xeon does not have. Also, it seems no one can use QuickSync to export H.264 in the 6,1, that's why it's much slower than the iMac in some export job.
     
  17. pastrychef thread starter macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #17
    Yes, I'm currently using a Raspberry Pi. I'm waiting for the new AppleTV to be available.

    I have not tried any DRM'd content. Everything is been DRM-free.
     
  18. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #18
    Well I tried it just now. MP5,1 Yosemite, ATV3.

    I don't even get an Airplay icon in QuickTime or Safari/Youtube. I do get the Airplay icon in iTunes, and that works fine.
     
  19. pastrychef thread starter macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #19
    Hmm... Weird... I've never installed any sort of non-Apple apps related to AirPlay on my Mac.

    Oh well, thanks for testing. I appreciate the help.
     
  20. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #20
    Use opencl and Adobe media encoder
     
  21. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #21
    I looked up Apple support which was not too helpful, but the knowledge base article says that Airplay will work in applications like Quicktime and Safari "if the Airplay icon is showing" or something like that.

    Just curious, but did Airplay ever work for you in those apps? If not, then I can only speculate that it is normal that Airplay doesn't work in those apps (on a cMP), but somehow the icon is being incorrectly revealed on your computer.
     
  22. pastrychef thread starter macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #22
    I think AirPlay in QuickTime and Safari are new to El Capitan and I never got it to work. I was hoping that it was due to the fact that I am using a Raspberry Pi.

    AirPlay as a system audio output works fine in Yosemite and El Capitan. AirPlay from iTunes also works fine with both OSes. Streaming videos (DRM free) from iTunes also works.
     
  23. pastrychef thread starter macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #23
    I finally got my Apple TV 4 over Christmas and can confirm that it does show up in QuickTime and Safari with my Mac Pro 5,1.
     
  24. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #24
    Only for audio, though since MP 5,1's don't have Intel QuickSync in the CPUs.
     
  25. pastrychef thread starter macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY

Share This Page