Is Alum. Macbook suppose to be completely quiet?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by MacDaddy24, Jan 17, 2009.

1. MacDaddy24 macrumors newbie

I know there has been a lot of posts regarding fans but lately right when i turn my Macbook on the fan goes on instantly. Its not extremely loud but its constantly there and never stops making noises. I know my macbook use to be quiet for at least periods of time without the fan turning on! what do i do its really annoying! THanks!

2. MacBook - 13 macrumors newbie

I have a MacBook 2.4GHz aluminium, and the fan runs at 2000RPM constantly. It's almost impossible to hear! Even when I'm running Photoshop, Firefox, Office, iWork, iLife etc. at the same time it doesn't speed ut.

3. sporadicMotion macrumors 65816

sporadicMotion

They're not supposed to be completely quiet. They have active cooling systems so they're gonna make noise.

4. MacDaddy24 thread starter macrumors newbie

sorry im new at this. But i know that i hear a noise all the time and it never turns off and it didn't do that before. how do i find out how my fan is running?

5. gmade macrumors newbie

Download the iStat widget. It tell you lots of nifty information. Including the fan speed.

6. MacBook - 13 macrumors newbie

I use the smcFanControl2 to monitor and adjust the minimum fan speed. Works great! :)

7. MacDaddy24 thread starter macrumors newbie

my fan is at 2001 rpm? is that good bad normal... lol

8. dvdhsu macrumors 6502a

dvdhsu

It's decent.
    Of course it depends on your CPU usage at the time though...

9. VSMacOne macrumors 601

VSMacOne

The sound you're hearing is most likely your HDD... that's pretty much something i'm experiencing and have had to just deal with it. So unless it's making LOUD clicks or weird stuff, you should be just fine.

DECENT? lol... it's NORMAL... Unibody MacBooks run between 1996-2001 RPMs on average, unless of course you're doing something really CPU intensive.

10. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

aznguyen316