Is it time to upgrade to a rMBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by rumrogers, Aug 30, 2012.

1. rumrogers macrumors newbie

Hey all,

Long time lurker, first time poster. I have a question about upgrading to an rMBP and whether it's the right time to or not.

A little background, I'm a student of Industrial Design. This means I use Illustrator, Photoshop, InDesign, AfterEffects, SolidWorks, Rhino, Maxwell, and Keyshot(as the most processor-intensive software). I also enjoy playing games on Steam.

My current setup is:

- Mid-2009 15" MBP
    - 2.66 GHz Intel Core 2
    - 4 GB of RAM
    - 512GB of storage space
    - GeForce 9400M 256MB

I've had this computer for almost 3 years and it has treated me wonderfully. However, a couple months ago I dropped it and broke the screen, albeit not entirely.

Naturally, this makes it hard to do work with the kinds of software I listed above. My computer still functions, but it's usability is hampered and it's not getting any better.

I know I want to upgrade to a rMBP at some point, but I'm wondering whether now is the time. The reasons I'd like to upgrade now are:

a.) I don't particularly feel like slogging through my Senior year with a hobbled laptop.
    b.) I may be able to make this tax-deductible while I'm currently employed at my summer internship
    c.) If I order before September 21st, I get a $100 App Store card

I really like the idea of going through Senior year with a great machine, but I don't want to be short-changed by a coming update cycle.

Will someone please provide some insight into whether this is the right time to be upgrading? And whether the current rMBPs and their known issues(screen ghosting, the 650M lagging a bit) are dealbreakers?

Money isn't really a concern with this one.

Thanks in advance.

2. Stetrain macrumors 68040