Is it worth upgrading from 2GB to 4GB memory for new MacBook?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by vtbean, Nov 3, 2009.

1. vtbean macrumors newbie

Hi guys. I'm a complete newbie when it comes to computer hardware and I was wondering if I'll see a noticeable difference if I upgrade the ram for my new MacBook (white unibody) from 2GB to 4GB. I think it will cost around $90 for this upgrade and I don't want to do it if it's not really necessary. My main work on this comp is for iPhone dev. and some video/photo editing. Thanks! :D

2. spinnerlys Guest

spinnerlys

You will notice it. More RAM, means more programs and documents can be open without some kind of lag.

Use MRoogle to find more finite answers.

3. rusty2192 macrumors 6502a

Most people in this forum will probably tell you to do it.

However, I have the original base aluminum MacBook, complete with the stock 2GB of DDR3 ram, and it runs just fine for most of what I do. There are a few things it would be nice to have that extra 2GB for. VMWare Fusion didn't run the best (XP Pro) and I could bog down the computer running several instances of preview, several excel spreadsheets, safari, mail, iChat, etc while I was working on my Masters degree, but for normal, everyday use, the 2GB is more than enough.

It's up to you though. Bigger is always better. It just depends if the performance upgrade is worth the money for you personally. For me, it wasn't. Especially now that I got my beautiful new iMac.

4. J&JPolangin macrumors 68030

...I have the 2.0 Ghz whitebook in my signature and I would probably be fine with the stock 2 GB of RAM if I didn't use Fusion on it... the upgrade was gotten for only $45 shipped as its the PC6400 DDR2 RAM so it was well worth the upgrade!

5. splitpea macrumors 6502a

You'll probably find the extra memory useful for the video editing, and for the photo editing if you have a high pixel count camera.