Is it worth upgrading to 8mb of ram

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by New2Guitar, Apr 12, 2011.

1. New2Guitar macrumors newbie

Hi All,

I'm new to MAC's......................

The primary use for my MBP is photo editing. Everything is done is RAW format so every file is at least 10MB in size.

If I upgraded the RAM from 4 to 8 MB will there be a noticeable improvement with speed? Is it a worth wild investment.

Here's my system

Model Name: MacBook Pro
    Model Identifier: MacBookPro8,2
    Processor Name: Intel Core i7
    Processor Speed: 2.2 GHz
    Number of Processors: 1
    Total Number of Cores: 4
    L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
    L3 Cache: 6 MB
    Memory: 4 GB
    Boot ROM Version: MBP81.0047.B04
    SMC Version (system): 1.69f1
    Serial Number (system):
    Hardware UUID: 78FDC52D-XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
    Sudden Motion Sensor:
    State: Enabled

Thanks

2. Naimfan macrumors 68040

Naimfan

Search is your friend. This has been discussed ad nauseum.

And yes, with your exact question.

:)

3. BlindGoldfish macrumors regular

Going from 4 to 8 MB of ram won't make as much of a difference as pivoting your graphics fan or swapping battery fluid.

4. vincenz macrumors 601

vincenz

It won't make your computer "faster," but you'll be able to run more programs concurrently, edit more pictures at the same time, etc etc.

5. solaris7 macrumors regular

8MB will be overkill!!!!

/end of sarcasm for the day

6. TRUCRACKER macrumors 6502

TRUCRACKER

7. Keleko macrumors 68000

I also have 4GB in my older MBP, and it is old enough that it can't have any more. I frequently run into memory limitations while running both Aperture and Photoshop, and sometimes just Aperture by itself. When that happens things drop to a crawl because there's not enough memory to go around while editing. So, 8GB would be a huge help in that case. If you never run into the memory limit like that, then 8GB will not make much difference.

8. Derango macrumors regular