Is MacRumors ignoring its own rules for profit?

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by Yebot, Mar 31, 2011.

1. Yebot macrumors 6502

Yebot

I've been coming to this forum as a registerd user since 2004. Today, I found myself looking at this thread:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=12260325

Seems like a nice review of a nice product by Targus. And a nice link to the Amazon product page for said product.

But there's a problem.

The link to Amazon is an obvious affiliate link - which isn't a problem in and of itself, but it made me curious.

Here is the affiliate link from that thread. The 'tag=macrumors-20' part is the part that tells Amazon that if the click results in a sale, Amazon will pay a percentage of money to the affiliate with the id of 'macrumors-20'.

Code:
    http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/redirect?link_code=ur2&camp=1789&tag=macrumors-20&creative=9325&path=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.amazon.com%2Fgp%2Fproduct%2FB004N62HZI
    I have no problem with affiliate marketing. The problem I wish to point out is that this forum has rules. And the thread I'm talking about breaks those rules. If the original poster would have said, "this is an affiliate link ... if you buy, I get paid, etc." I probably would have moved along.

From the rules page:

http://guides.macrumors.com/Help:Forum_Rules

Now really, I don't have a big problem with any of this. Whatever. So someone wants to make a buck. Ok. So do I.

But here's what's really puzzling. I left a comment on the thread a few hours ago. I simply wrote, "Nice affiliate link."

I even hit the 'Report Post' button on the orginal post. Only because I read the rules & saw a violation. Sorry, for being a rat. I thought Arn would like to know what's going on on his forum. That someone might be breaking his rules -- trying to make money by piggybacking on the gobs of traffic this website gets.

Some time ago, my "Nice affiliate link." comment has been deleted. The thread is still active.