Is "no-commitment" full-price AT&T iPhone 6s definitely unlocked?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Nicky G, Sep 12, 2015.

  1. Nicky G macrumors 6502a

    Nicky G

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Location:
    Baltimore & NYC
    #1
    Subject really says it. I ordered the full-price $849 6s 128GB for AT&T from Apple. It clearly says for contract "no commitment." Will this phone come from Apple unlocked? I've never done full-price/unlocked before, and am going to Japan on Sept. 29 and would love to buy a local SIM!
     
  2. Lobwedgephil macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    #2
    At&t will unlock it for you if bought outright.
     
  3. Nicky G thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Nicky G

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Location:
    Baltimore & NYC
    #3
    Is that a phone call and quick operation?
     
  4. UPBaylor macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    #4
    It's been discussed quite a bit on here, but it's almost certainly unlocked if it comes from Apple and if not, AT&T will unlock it if it's paid off.
     
  5. DrBwell macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    #5
    I'm pretty sure it can be done over the phone.
     
  6. ksj0823 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    #6
    well we not sure it will be unlocked, but sure it will be unlockable?
     
  7. harpyeagle macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    #7
    Yes, if you buy it full price, it comes unlocked - no need for any phone calls or anything. I bought my 4s and 6 this way and was able to use local SIM on my international travel.
     
  8. Roller macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    #8
    I recently bought an iPhone 6 from Apple to use abroad. I was pretty sure that it was already unlocked, but decided to ask AT&T just to be sure. The rep told me that he couldn't check this (something I don't believe) but said that I could apply to have it unlocked, which I did during the same chat. I got an email with instructions in a day or so, which said to back up and restore the iPhone. (You have to erase the iPhone before restoring from backup - that's the only way you'll see the congratulations message in iTunes.) Alternatively, if you have a functional SIM from another carrier, you can insert it and see if your iPhone detects that network. If it does, the phone is unlocked.
     
  9. Nicky G thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Nicky G

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Location:
    Baltimore & NYC
    #9
    That's really the only way to show that your iPhone is unlocked? There's nowhere in the settings where it shows you? Sheeeeesh.

    Could you just have them unlock it before you activate it at all, and before you restore your backed-up iPhone image for the first time?
     
  10. Roller macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    #10
    As far as I know, there's no way to tell that an iPhone is unlocked by looking at the settings. There are websites that let you check by entering the device's IMEI #, but the one I tried didn't work. In iTunes, you should see a congratulatory message when you activate the phone or when you restore it to factory settings.

    The cynic in me says that not displaying the unlock status on the phone is a restriction that the carriers require - they don't want you to know that you can use your device on a competitor's network for less. But things are changing, as carriers and Apple now let you buy iPhones on installments (basically interest-free loans). There are differences, however. For example, under AT&T's Next plan, you aren't supposed to be able to have the phone unlocked until it's paid for (though this thread says that you can.) With Apple, the phone is unlocked even if it's not paid off.

    I look forward to the day when devices and plans are independent, apart from any requirements imposed by the radio system the phone uses. I can connect my TV to any provider, and I should be able to do the same with my phone.
     
  11. terraphantm macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #11
    Just pop in a non-AT&T SIM and you'll find out
     
  12. Roller macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    #12
    True, but that won't work if you're traveling somewhere and plan to buy a SIM when you get there. It's crazy that even AT&T wouldn't tell me if the phone was unlocked.
     
  13. terraphantm macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #13
    Get a SIM from T-mobile. You can get them for pennies. It doesn't have to be an active account
     
  14. Roller macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    #14
    Good suggestion... I didn't know about that. Thanks.
     
  15. turbineseaplane macrumors 68020

    turbineseaplane

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    #15
    It's such a joke we are still even having to worry about this.

    Anybody paying full price up front should always - always - be getting a fully unlocked device with no further effort required.
     
  16. ksj0823 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    #16
    I knew that if we pop in a tmobile sim into a locked att phone, it will pops a windows ask for the unlock code. But what will pops out if we put an non-active tmobile sim to a locked ATT iphone??? sry new iphone user
     
  17. aesc80 macrumors 6502

    aesc80

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015
    #17
    If it works, you should see a "T-MOBILE" sign on the top left, rather than the "AT&T" sign.
     
  18. ksj0823 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    #18
    with the $0.99 inactive tmobile sim?? will it show T-mobile?
     
  19. hofnar macrumors regular

    hofnar

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #19
    I also paid in full for mine as well, in hopes it will be unlocked (AT&T same story)

    Side note (and sorry for changing the subject) is it easier these days to get a SIM in Japan? A few years ago it was not as simple as it is in the US. Are there more options than renting one at the airport? I know there are a few sites you can get one.
     
  20. 617aircav Suspended

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    #20
    Att denied my brothers unlock on a galaxy s6 bought full price. Don't know why.
     
  21. metsjetsfan macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    #21
    you can just put in an unlock request if not. by law they have to do it if you own the phone outright
     
  22. nostresshere macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    #22
    If it is anything like my family, you are not getting the full story from your brother. LOL!
     
  23. cfairbank macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    #23
    When you bring the new 6s home plug it into iTunes and restore as new. Once it reboots you should see a pop up window on your computer stating the phone is unlocked. This is what I did last year on my AT&T 6+.
     
  24. 617aircav Suspended

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    #24
    It's not complicated. He bought a phone full price from tat with a iPhone plan. He put the request in online and was denied. He returned the phone after that.
     
  25. Nicky G thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Nicky G

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Location:
    Baltimore & NYC
    #25
    Nice protip there! :) I could even go to a T-Mobile store and just try one out there, and see if it recognizes the network (it's my understanding that for the new iPhone 6s, probably only AT&T and T-Mo will share the same phone model).
     

Share This Page