Is Snow Leopard Worth the Wait?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by TRAG, Feb 11, 2009.

1. TRAG macrumors 6502

TRAG

I have a 15.4" MacBook Pro. It is the one right before the unibody aluminum ones came out. I bought it 3 months before the new ones came out and was thinking of selling mine, but I'm a college student and needed it.

Would now be a good time to sell my MacBook Pro and get a 13.3" MacBook, or should I wait for SNOW LEOPARD? Will it run on the new MacBooks or would there possibly be newer ones? The current MacBooks have the same processor and RAM as the one I have now. It has a better graphics card and better design. The only things I'd lose out on are the larger screen, slightly higher resolution, and FireWire 800. I don't even use the FireWire ports for my camera and I'm not into music. I've only used it once with a DV camcorder. Plus there are FireWire to USB converters.

I'd appreciate any replies. Thanks. :apple:

2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

Snow Leopard will not be a release like Leopard, with lots of bells and whistles. Most of the changes will be "under the hood" where you're not likely to notice them. I wouldn't make a buying decision based on Snow Leopard.

I have the same MBP as you, and I have no intention of selling it. I prefer it to the unibody model and I'm not willing to give up the features I use to "downgrade".

3. Peace macrumors P6

Peace

Keep your current one if you want to. Snow Leopard will run just fine on it. Unless you really want to sell it. The one you have will run SL better than the new Macbook.

4. raymondu999 macrumors 65816

5. TRAG thread starter macrumors 6502

TRAG

How will Snow Leopard run faster on mine if my MBP has the same specs as the new MB?

6. Peace macrumors P6

Peace

What Macbook 13.3" are you comparing your MBP to ?

The stock Macbook has integrated graphics while your MBP has a dedicated graphics chip.

7. TRAG thread starter macrumors 6502

TRAG