Is the 2010 MBP 13" 2.4GHz Outdated?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Titanium81, Oct 22, 2011.

  1. Titanium81 macrumors 6502a

    Titanium81

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    #1
    Is the 2010 MBP 13" 2.4GHz Outdated? Or is it still very viable with a SSD and 8GB Ram swap?
     
  2. psykick5 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    #2
    If you want to browse the web and write up some documents, it's very viable. If you want to heavy photo edit or game, then I recommend staying away from it.
     
  3. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #3
    Depends on your usage, but the C2D architecture (the 13" MBP from 2010 uses a Core 2 Duo CPU) is considered outdated.
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    No computer is outdated as long as it still meets your needs.
     
  5. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #5
    I'm sorry, my MacBook from late 2008 (Al casing) has the 2.4GHz CPU and still does heavy duty stuff... do you know what you are talking about?

    Trust me, a SSD upgrade and more RAM will put double life into it. The CPU is very capable. If anything, it might be the GPU that will bottleneck.

    Core 2 Duos are not sold anymore because of a newer architecture. But that doesn't make them outdated... A Pentium 4 is outdated.
     
  6. bruleke macrumors 6502

    bruleke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #6
    Agreed in every single letter.

    My brother has a 2008 C2D 2.4ghz and he works with photos, videos, heavy stuff.
    Smooth as water in the river.

    The problem is that the companies produce ads to make you feel 'old' and outdated with your products.
    Its like "buy this, buy that" even when you dont need them.
     
  7. Titanium81 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Titanium81

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    #7
    Well it's the latest MBP 13" that supports OpenCL under OS X Lion.

    Straight from http://www.apple.com/macosx/specs.html

    OpenCL
    requires one of the following graphics cards or graphics processors:

    NVIDIA GeForce 320M, GeForce GT 330M, GeForce 9400M, GeForce 9600M GT, GeForce 8600M GT, GeForce GT 120, GeForce GT 130, GeForce GTX 285, GeForce 8800 GT, GeForce 8800 GS, Quadro FX 4800, Quadro FX5600
    ATI Radeon HD 4670, ATI Radeon HD 4850, Radeon HD 4870, ATI Radeon HD 5670, ATI Radeon HD 5750, ATI Radeon HD 5770, ATI Radeon HD 5870
    AMD Radeon HD 6750M, AMD Radeon HD 6770M, AMD Radeon HD 6970M


    The Intel 3000HD has no support for OpenCL and don't think it ever will.
     
  8. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #8
    No it won't. All Intel branded GPUs are garbage.
     
  9. Titanium81 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Titanium81

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    #9
    I am saying the 2010 13" MBP 2.4GHz is the latest or "Newest" 13" MBP to support OpenCL.


    I agree the Intel 3000 HD is not so good.
     
  10. c.s. macrumors regular

    c.s.

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    #10
    It's very capable - I'm willing to bet you'll be far happier w/ SSD in your current machine than with a new machine w/o SSD. I'm a graphic designer using a 2009 MBP and it's still great (thanks to adding RAM and new drive). I'm glad I didn't upgrade this year.
     
  11. Titanium81 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Titanium81

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    #11
    The reason I ask is because I want to get a 13" MBP and thinking the 2010 model might be a better option for me since it has OpenCL support under OS X Lion.

    I think this would be better for me, for the next couple years, until Apple releases a 13" that is recognized and has support for things like OpenCL.

    ----------


    So are you saying you personally would rather go from your 2009 to a 2010, then from 2009 to 2011?
     
  12. Titanium81 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Titanium81

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    #12
    I'm starting to think the 2011 13" MBP is kinda a glitch in the MBP Line that should be resolved in the next release in 2012.

    Should have released the 2011 with Core 2 duo, HD Camera, Thunderbolt port..... So they could have stuck with Nvidia ;)

    Would have been better off in my opinion.
     
  13. Prodo123 macrumors 68020

    Prodo123

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    #13
    That misinformation is garbage.
    HD 3000 is on par with Nvidia GeForce GT 320M. Pretty serious feat for Intel's previously horrendous graphics.
    You win. :)
     
  14. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #14
    On par simply because Intel doesn't let nVidia license DMI. If nVidia were to get DMI licensed, Intel's GPUs would be squashed, just like their GMA was under the 9400M series.

    nVidia has no gain on trying to achieve high gains for a dead end socket. Same can be said for AMD/ATI, Intel will in no way allow their competitor to achieve DMI licensing to see their GPU market share drop.

    So, its natural Intel's crap GPUs will win.
     
  15. Prodo123 macrumors 68020

    Prodo123

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    #15
    Remember the first Intel i-processor graphics?
    They used DMI.
    IMHO Intel really did improve the graphics this time around.
     
  16. psykick5 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    #16
    Your "heavy duty" and my "heavy duty" are probably different. Chill.
     
  17. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #17
    Explain yours and I'll tell you.
     
  18. Prodo123 macrumors 68020

    Prodo123

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    #18
    1. Games
    2. Photoshop
    3. Massive conversions of iTunes library spanning 3000 songs all in lossless
    4. Encoding marathons of 1080p HD movies
    5. VMs

    I could give more
     
  19. psykick5 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    #19
    I frequently cripple an iMac with the same C2D. Two files in Illustrator, two or three in Photoshop, two in Flash, Chrome with ~10 tabs (including Pandora), downloading some crap, and maybe some iTunes. VMs sometimes.
     
  20. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #20
    My turn:

    1. Aperture
    2. No conversions.
    3. Family movie conversions to 1080p and 720p
    4. I have only one VM
    5. Games? Well, only if I boot into Windows (BootCamp), and still my nVidia 9400M is the bottleneck.

    You cripple the RAM, not the CPU. I notice everything running in my Mac. As long as everything stays within the 4GB RAM, the entire thing runs smooth. As soon as I start swapping, the slow downs start.
     
  21. Prodo123 macrumors 68020

    Prodo123

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    #21
    2.4Ghz dual core...if that's the T8300 then I have a Lenovo laptop with the same processor.
    It's so slow, sometimes slower than my old 1.73Ghz T5300. Which, by the way, STILL runs like a champ. Tolerable performance for such a lowly processor!
    Anyway, it's probably the laptop's inability to leverage the processor's full potential.
     
  22. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #22
    Perhaps its that. But me personally, this 2.4 GHz C2D has been very strong and reliable with me.

    Like I said earlier, its the RAM amount and GPU that cause the headaches. I have checked performance every time and never have I seen it rise to 100% unless I start encoding or do FLASH (obviously there).

    Hell, I thought Lion would bring my laptop to a slowdown in general due to Apple doing this with the iPhones. But no, Lion runs as smooth as Snow Leopard did.
     
  23. RedReplicant macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #23
    Another one here with a 2010 13" and plenty happy with it. I think the SSD + 8GB of ram keep it from feeling slow. Normal workload is a Windows7 VM, lightroom, photoshop, 720p videos, web browsing w/ heavy tab counts.
     
  24. product26 macrumors 6502a

    product26

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    #24
    people "heavy photo edited" & "gamed" on this machine last year...

    I record and mix 30+ track recording sessions (NOT virtual instrument sessions) in logic pro on my 2009 13" entry level MBP. a 2010 MBP is sure to be good fore more than web browsing and document editing.


    Well Said.
     
  25. Titanium81 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Titanium81

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    #25
    WOW! Thanks for all the responses.

    I think I will definitely get the 2010 13" MBP.

    I wont be doing anything too hardcore:

    Photo Editing in GIMP

    Video Editing in iMove

    Some HandBrake use

    Web Development with PHP

    Some Development with X Code

    With these upgrades 8GB Ram, 115GB Mercury EXTREME Pro 3G Solid State Drive, (with external HDD)

    I think this should last me quite awhile.
     

Share This Page