Is the new Mac Pro Better than the old Mac Pro and how much will it cost?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Mactrunk, Aug 21, 2013.

  1. Mactrunk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    #1
    I'm just watching the threads here.
    I like the Old 2012 Mac Pro, but I'm thinking that the New 2013 Mac Pro might be better.
    Which one is better?
    What are the prices?
    What are the specs on the new one?
    When can I get the new one?
    How much will it cost?
    Can I easily migrate from my 2012 Mac Pro to the 2013?
    Thanks!
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    Better is subjective.
    The older MP is more expandable,so some will call that better. The newer MP will be faster, and many will call that better. It depends on what your needs are.

    The cost will be high, but a precise amount is unknown. We'll have to wait until apple releases that information.

    Please visit the apple site for specs.

    Apple has stated the fall for release so expect to order one then
     
  3. flat five macrumors 601

    flat five

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    newyorkcity
    #3
    way too hard to make real/honest comparison at this point because nobody really knows the necessary answers..

    the new mac appears to be faster and more efficient in pretty much every area imaginable..



    depends on what you mean by migrate.. if you're talking about software and files etc then yeah- it should be no different than any other sort of new computer purchase.

    if you're talking about hardware migration then you may have a bit of a problem.. for instance, if you're using dvi for displays then you'll need some adapters for the cables (new mac has no dvi output).. if you have a lot of internal hard drives in the current mac, you'll need to buy a dedicated enclosure to use them with the new mac.. it's possible you have a pci based expansion which you'll need to find a new solution for (though the new mac already includes most things natively which people are currently using pci for)..

    but if you're trying to make some sort of buying decision, you'll have to just wait until the new one becomes available in order to get all the necessary info.. we just don't have any way of knowing things like cost and complete specs at this point.
     
  4. azentropy macrumors 68000

    azentropy

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    Surprise
    #4
    There are things definitely better with the new Mac Pro and there are things that are definitely better with the older Mac Pro. And then there are still a great number of unknowns.

    Kinda reminds me of...
    Which bear is best?
     
  5. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #5
    1. Discussed already to death.
    2. Discussed already to death.
    3. http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1594991
    4. Sources say somewhere between late October 2012 and Janurary 2014
    5. Same question as #2 isn't it??? And discussed already to death.
    6. Yes.
     
  6. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #6
    And let me add:

    Discussed already to death.
    Discussed already to death.
    Discussed already to death.
    Discussed already to death.
    and etc.

    Lou
     
  7. azentropy macrumors 68000

    azentropy

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    Surprise
    #7
    #6 - define easily? If you have a older Mac Pro with say 4 internal drives it isn't like you can just move them to the new Mac Pro. You would have to make all those drives external and get a USB3 or TB chassis.
     
  8. Moonjumper macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Location:
    Lincoln, UK
    #8
    Other than the information in the keynote that announced it, the only thing we know is that cinema teaser trailers apparently end with a statement saying it will come fall 2013.
     
  9. MacMadness macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    #9
    You gotta be kidding with this thread.
    I mean really?:eek:
     
  10. phoenixsan macrumors 65816

    phoenixsan

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    #10
    Better.....

    is a very subjective word. Depends in a series of factors and likings.....For me, if the new Mac Pro can enhance my workflow making things faster by a 25%-40% more, that will be better. Not so good about lack of internal expansion and TB only for most connections......

    Price is another factor to valuate about "better" or no....I had seen figures putting the new Mac Pro around or over $3500.....:confused:.......:eek:



    :):apple:
     
  11. flat five macrumors 601

    flat five

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    newyorkcity
    #11
    that's impossible.. i could have the fastest computer never created (no bottlenecks or slowdowns ever) and it still wouldn't increase my workflow speed by any measurable amount for most tasks..

    if you want much improved workflow speeds, you'll have to look towards improved software UI and/or better means to communicate with the computers.. (both the keyboard and mouse are incredibly slow and are the devices used during most computing time)

    (unless i've misinterpreted what you meant by making things 25-40% faster)


    --------------------------
    the computers are way fast enough for most things at this time... it's time to start refining the usability side of things..
     
  12. snberk103 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Location:
    An Island in the Salish Sea
    #12
    I think the one thing we know for sure is that the new Mac Pro won't be nearly as good as a paper weight if you had a very large stack of paper in windstorm.

    Everything else is just speculation.

    Oh, and I think it's safe to say it will not be cheaper than current Mac Pros. But that is just a guess too.
     
  13. clamnectar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    #13
    That's not true at all. For example in my field, video, there's a data crunching threshold where things suddenly go from being realtime to requiring rendering and preprocessing. When you have to render or preprocess something, not only does it take time, but it interrupts the flow of work. If the new Mac Pro, with its super fast RAM, SSD, and GPUs makes previously non-realtime work realtime, which it sounds like it will for video people, then... well, that would be cool. That's all.
     
  14. flat five macrumors 601

    flat five

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    newyorkcity
    #14
    i said most tasks.

    an example of what i'm getting at using your post as an example.. i'd guess it took you 1000x longer to type that than it did to think it.. (and probably even way more than 1000x)..
     
  15. clamnectar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    #15
    Oh, so you didn't say that for somebody's workflow it was impossible that it could be 25-45% faster? Because that's what it sounded like. I didn't realize your only point was that humans can't work a computer as fast as we can think. I'm sure we can all agree on that.
     
  16. flat five macrumors 601

    flat five

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    newyorkcity
    #16
    meh.. I had a point and maybe I didn't say it clear enough or whatever. I don't feel like arguing about it right now
     
  17. styrax macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    #17
    styrax

    I think I'll pick up another high end Mac Pro before they're gone. With a 30" Cinema display adn 4 HDs, I prefer expandability to imperceptible speed increase.
     
  18. clamnectar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    #18
    Yep, I'm just being a bit of a dick... everyone on these forums just loves correcting each other. That's what it's all about. A bunch of *******s correcting each other. No wonder it's so much fun in here!
     
  19. flat five, Aug 21, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2013

    flat five macrumors 601

    flat five

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    newyorkcity
    #19
    it's all good.. i do it too.. isn't that what the internet is for?
    :)


    is there such a word as impandability ?
    meaning- sure, you can add some stuff to the inside of the current mac but not that much.. there is limited space in there as well as limits on what exactly you can add.. i don't think it's as customizable as people are making it out to be. [add] i mean, i've used the current form since the g5s.. all (aside from drives and ram) of my customization/expansion has occurred outside the box.
     
  20. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #20
    Not that much? :confused: Here's my computer:

    OPT1: Blu-ray
    OPT2: Win 7 SSD
    BAY1: OS X SSD
    BAY2: OS X HDD
    BAY3: Win 7 HDD
    BAY4: exFAT HDD
    SLOT1: upgraded GPU
    SLOT3: upgraded USB
    mPCIe: wi-fi upgrade planned

    And I've still got two slots free! :D

    I would say you could put "not that much" into the new MP. In the old MP you can install a walk-in closet!
     
  21. flat five macrumors 601

    flat five

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    newyorkcity
    #21
    aside from blu-ray, those are all hard drives and upgrades.. your list looks long but it's not really..
     
  22. flat five, Aug 21, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2013

    flat five macrumors 601

    flat five

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    newyorkcity
    #22
    in contrast, here's a list of expansion/customization to suit my needs.. (and this isn't even a long list compared to what some people probably have but you (maybe not you in particular) get the idea

    scanner
    logitech mx
    27" display
    24" display
    bose sound
    wacom
    lacie portable drive
    handful of flash drives
    keyboard
    trackpad
    printer
    router / cable modem
    time capsule

    i know it's sort of silly to point out these type of things as expansion/customizations but that's exactly what they are.. with the new mac, there will be one more item on that list- a drobo or similar.. if you can step back a bit and look at the big picture, you'll see it's not a big deal at all.. and i'll actually be using a little less expansion space than with the current tower.
     
  23. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #23

    Whatever. I sure would't call that difficult!

    ----------

    Hehehe... :p
     
  24. azentropy macrumors 68000

    azentropy

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    Surprise
    #24
    Technically it isn't difficult if you already have everything you would need. But it is difficult it you don't have a chassis already purchased to put them in! There is extra time and cost involved.
     
  25. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #25
    Pfpfpfpfpfffff... :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page